No. 2 UCLA Sweeps Arizona, 7-0, In Men's Tennis

March 29, 2002

Results

Los Angeles, Calif. - The second-ranked UCLA men's tennis team defeated Arizona, 7-0, Friday afternoon at the Los Angeles Tennis Center. The victory improves UCLA's record to 15-1, while the Wildcats fall to 7-7.

The Bruins started the match by claiming the doubles point after victories on Court One by second-ranked Jean-Julien Rojer / Marcin Matkowski (8-5 over Steven Capriati / Carl Hagman) and on Court Two by Lassi Ketola / Rodrigo Grilli (8-5 over Whi Kim / Roeland Brateanu).

In singles, UCLA swept the six singles matches, all in straight sets. At No. 1 singles, 23rd-ranked Matkowski defeated 41st-ranked Capriati, 6-3, 6-4. Rojer downed Kim , 6-3, 7-6, at No. 2 singles, and Grilli handled Tom Lloyd, 7-5, 6-2, at No. 3 singles. The Bruin 4-6 players breezed through their matches, with Erfan Djahangiri defeating Hagman, 6-2, 6-2 at No. 4 singles, Ketola downing Bruno Arapovic, 6-1, 6-2, at No. 5 singles, and Derrick Nguyen beating Brateanu, 6-2, 6-3 at No. 6.

Arizona's only match won on the day was at No. 3 doubles, as Lloyd/Colin O'Grady defeated Djahangiri / Tobias Clemens on Court 3 by a score of 8-4.

UCLA will next face Arizona State on Saturday, Mar. 30 at noon in the Los Angeles Tennis Center.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS