Howland Earns Second National Coach of the Year Honor (Collegehoops.Net)

April 7, 2006, the web's most popular independent college basketball site, announced the remainder of their 2006 postseason awards today. Ben Howland, coach of national runner-up UCLA was named the 2006 Coach of the Year. Fellow Final Four participant George Mason was named the 2006 Program of the Year for their impressive run through the NCAA Tournament. A complete list of postseason awards is included below: Coach of the Year

Ben Howland, UCLA
From beginning to end, 2005-06 was a magical season for the UCLA Bruins. It began with an 11-1 start, continued with a Pac-10 regular season title, was followed by a Pac-10 Tournament title, and culminated with a run to the NCAA Tournament Finals. All of this occurred despite a continual string of injuries, including the season-ending loss of starter Josh Shipp. This improbable success falls firmly on the shoulders of Ben Howland, who has almost personally turned around this West Coast Power. After going 10-19 in the season before his arrival, the Bruins have improved from 11, to 18, to 32 wins. Program of the Year

George Mason
Even before their surprising run to the Final Four, George Mason was already having an impressive season. The Patriots finished tied atop the CAA with a 15-3 record, finished the regular season with an RPI of 26, and a non-conference RPI of 30. After a disappointing loss to Hofstra in the CAA Tournament, including an unfortunate punching incident by senior guard Tony Skinn, the Patriots were sweating out an NCAA Tournament bid. However, Coach Jim Larranaga's handling of this situation, and their monster-slaying NCAA Tournament run makes them worthy of being 2006 Program of the Year. Most-Improved Player

Joakim Noah, Florida Noah, who blossomed into a media darling during Florida's National Championship Run, exemplifies the Most-Improved Player award. After averaging just 9 minutes per game in 2004-05, Noah exploded with averages of 14.2 ppg, 7.1 rpg, and 2.4 bpg. Impressively, he put up these numbers in just 24.9 mpg and is primed to improve once again with full starters minutes next year. Conference of the Year

Missouri Valley Conference This award goes to a conference that features impressive top-to-bottom team success, an exciting conference race, challenging scheduling, and a lack of off-the-court distractions. The MVC had a banner year this season with four NCAA Tournament bids, six teams in the RPI Top 40, the sixth overall conference RPI rating, and two teams in the Sweet Sixteen. All in all, this was one of the easiest postseason awards to give in 2006. All-Favorite Team

G Kyle Lowry, Villanova
G Mike Gansey, West Virginia
F Brandon Roy, Washington
F Adam Morrison, Gonzaga
F Glen Davis, LSU
Whether because of sheer physical talent, basketball savvy, impressive hustle, and a sterling personality, the All-Favorite Team is for players who make it fun and exciting to be college basketball fans.

- For a complete list of CHN postseaon awards, including All-Americans and All-Rookie Teams, visit

- About (CHN). CHN is the most popular independent college basketball website, visited by over 100,000 die-hard college basketball fans per week. Email for more information.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX