Volleyball Coach, Players Earn AVCA Honors

December 10, 1998

LOS ANGELES - The American Volleyball Coaches Association selected two UCLA players, Elisabeth Bachman and Kristee Porter, to the AVCA All-District VIII women's volleyball team released today. In addition, UCLA head coach Andy Banachowski was named the AVCA District VIII Coach of the Year.

Bachman, a redshirt sophomore from Lakeville, Minn., led UCLA with 167 total blocks (1.52 bpg) and a .368 hitting percentage. She registered five or more blocks 18 times, and reached double-figures twice. Her 39 solo blocks this season are the third highest single-season total in UCLA history, while her .368 hitting percentage is the seventh-best ever at UCLA. Bachman, one of three Bruins selected Pac-10 Player of the Week during the season and later to the All-Pac-10 First Team, also received first team All-Pac-10 Academic honors and is on the national ballot after receiving GTE/CoSIDA Academic-All-District VIII recognition.

Kristee Porter, a true freshman from Tyler, Texas, led the team and conference with a 5.54 kills per game average. Her 609 total kills are the sixth-highest season total ever recorded at UCLA and the most-ever by a freshman. Porter was named the Pac-10 Conference Freshman of the Year and was selected to the All-Pac-10 First Team and the Pac-10 All-Freshman Team. During the season she became only the second freshman ever chosen the AVCA National Player of the Week in addition to earning Pac-10 POW honors. A five-time member of the 30-plus kill club, Porter registered the second-highest single match kill total in UCLA history with 38 against UCSB and also collected 24 digs in that match to join the prestigious 30-kill/20-dig club. She reached double figures in kills in the last 24 matches, including 18 with 20-plus kills.

Coach Banachowski was rewarded for turning a very young UCLA team around mid-season and finishing the year with an overall record of 16-12 after starting out 0-6. The Bruins placed third in the Pac-10 Conference with a record of 13-5 and won 13 of their final 16 matches. This is the fourth time in his career that Banachowski was chosen Coach of the Year at this level. He was also named the 1998 Pac-10 Conference Coach of the Year.

Each of the eight all-district teams has 12 members who will be considered for All-America honors. From this pool of 96 athletes 12 will be named first team All-American and 12 second team, which will be announced on Wednesday, Dec. 16. The National Coach of the Year will also be announced that day.

Following is the complete AVCA All-District Selections:

AVCA All-District Women's Volleyball Teams

District 1
Kiran Gill          Georgetown       OH
Kari Hogancamp      Massachusetts    OH
Enkelejda Katiraj   Hofstra          MB
Jenelle Koester     Connecticut      OPP
Alma Kovaci         Temple           OH
Jill Meyers**       Massachusetts    MB
Carla Muntz         Dayton           S
Annette Rynn        Connecticut      OH
Lindsay Treadwell   Notre Dame       MB
Melissa Tytko       Georgetown       MB
Yulia Vytrina       Georgetown       OH
Rosie Wustrack      Yale             MB

District 2 Lindsay Anderson Penn State OPP Melissa Beitz Illinois S Nicole Branagh Minnesota OH Bonnie Bremner*** Penn State S Lauren Cacciamani*** Penn State MB Christy Cochran** Penn State OH Kelly Kennedy** Wisconsin MB Sherisa Livingston Wisconsin MB Colleen Neels** Wisconsin S Emily Stout Penn State MB Alissia Thompson Miami (Ohio) MB Jenna Wrobel** Michigan State OH

District 3 Erin Berg North Carolina S Ajola Berisha American MB/OH Fiona Bolten** Florida State S Allison Coday** Clemson OH Claire Folga Virginia OH Carla Gartner** Georgia Tech OPP Jessica Parsons Virginia MB Holly Schneider Florida State OH Tori Seibert*** North Carolina MB Shannon Smith North Carolina MB Jodi Steffes Clemson OPP Aisha Thornton Florida State MB

District 4 Kim Carpenter Western Kentucky MB Ashley Edlund**** South Carolina S Jessica Field** Arkansas MB Jaunelle Hamilton** Auburn MB Jenni Keene Florida OH Jenny Manz** Florida OPP Jamie Rohme Arkansas OH Jennifer Sanchez Florida S Yarleen Santiago** Arkansas OH Kim Storey Arkansas MB Kathy Vis** Georgia MB Heather Wright Florida MB

District 5 Erin Aldrich Texas MB Kelly Campbell Colorado S Lori Garber Texas Tech MB Kendra Haselhorst** Illinois State MB Lisa Hilgers** Texas Tech S Megan Korver** Nebraska MB Michelle Kutcher Illinois State OH Nancy Meendering Nebraska OPP Fiona Nepo*** Nebraska S Demetria Sance**** Texas OH Stacy Sykora*** Texas A&M OH Amber Woolsey Texas A&M MB

District 6 Angie Aschoff Southeast Missouri State MB Tasha Barnicoat Southern Mississippi OH Michelle Collier South Florida OH Meleah Cutler Eastern Illinois OPP Sonya Gubaidulina** Louisville OH Ksenya Korshunova St. Louis MB Jenny Kniss Houston OPP Erica Malterer Wisconsin-Milwaukee OPP Patty Murphy Loyola-Chicago S Laura Risley St. Louis MB Lelia Roberts St. Louis S Becky Tenkman*** Cincinnati MB

District 7 Heather Bown Hawai'i MB Tracy Chambers Pacific MB Charlene Conley UC Santa Barbara OH Benishe Dillard** Long Beach State MB Roberta Gehlke*** UC Santa Barbara OH Anja Grabovac Long Beach State OH Misty May*** Long Beach State S Nina Puikkonen BYU MB Korie Rogers** BYU OPP Anna-Lena Smith BYU S Jennica Smith Pacific OH Elsa Stegemann Pacific OH

District 8 Elisabeth Bachman UCLA MB Jennifer Detmer Stanford MB Laura Echolds Santa Clara MB Kim Exner Eastern Washington MB Jennifer Kessy** USC OPP Katie Lindquist San Diego S Jasmina Marinkovic*** USC MB Sarah McFarland Loyola Marymount OPP Janice Mounts USC S Kristee Porter UCLA OH Kerri Walsh*** Stanford OPP Petia Yanchulova San Diego OH

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events