Seven Early Runs Lead Bruins To 8-6 Victory Over NC State

Feb. 14, 2003

Final Stats

UCLA (4-4) scored seven runs in the first two innings and held on to earn a 8-6 win over North Carolina State (2-1) in front of 248 fans at Jackie Robinson Stadium on Friday evening.

The Bruins put up five runs in the first inning, which got started by a lead-off walk to Preston Griffin. Billy Susdorf drove in Griffin and Wes Whisler on a single up the middle. Ryan McCarthy later doubled with the bases loaded to bring in all three runners.

In the bottom of the second, the Bruins added to their lead on a two-run home run by catcher Chris Denove, which was his second homer in this young season.

Another home run brought the eighth Bruin run across the plate, when Matt Thayer hit a solo shot in the fifth. The home run was the second of Thayer's career and first in 2003.

The Wolfpack offense was stifled by starter Mike Kunes, who kept it off the board until the sixth inning. Kunes only faced 16 batters heading into the sixth, retiring fifteen straight after allowing a lead-off single in the first.

A two-out, two-RBI double from Joe Gaetti, son of former major leaguer Gary Gaetti, brought in the first Wolfpack runs of the night in the top of the sixth.

After Kunes struck out the side in the seventh, the eighth got started for N.C. State when Adam Hargrave reached base on a McCarthy throwing error. Consecutive singles loaded the bases and the Bruins brought in reliever Doug Silva. He issued a walk to bring a run across the plate and keep the bases loaded with no outs. A wild pitch in the following at bat scored another runner. Two sacrifice flies scored the base runners and after a single from pinch hitter Lee Mezistrano, Chris Cordeiro came in to relieve Silva. Cordeiro struck out pinch hitter Jeremy Dutton to end the inning.

The Bruins were unable to pad their lead in the eighth and led 8-6 heading into the ninth. Cordeiro stayed on the mound to strike out two and force Hargave to ground out to McCarthy to earn the save.

The second game of the three game series will start tomorrow at 1:00 p.m. at Jackie Robinson Stadium. Right-hander Casey Janssen will start for the Bruins against Wolfpack left-hander Nate Cretarolo. The game will be broadcast over the internet at www.uclabruins.com


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS