No.1 Bruins Travel to No.6 UC Santa Barbara Tonight

March 1, 2002

The top-ranked UCLA men's volleyball team, which defeated Cal State Northridge Wednesday, continues its road trip this week, traveling to No.6 UC Santa Barbara tonight for a key MPSF match.

UCLA (15-3, 10-2) meets UC Santa Barbara (11-4, 7-4) at 7 p.m. at Robertson Gym.

In the latest MPSF standings, UCLA is in second place behind Hawaii (10-3, 7-1). The Warriors begin a two-match series at USC tonight. UC Santa Barbara, with its 3-1 victory last night against Pacific, remains in fifth place behind BYU (11-3, 9-3). In one other key conference match tonight, third place Pepperdine (13-4, 8-2) visits BYU.

UC Santa Barbara lost 3-1 to the Bruins on Feb. 19 and trails in the series, 98-25. The Gauchos last beat the Bruins on Jan. 6, 2001 in the finals of their pre-season tournament.

Against CS Northridge, the Bruins were led by junior Cameron Mount's 14 kills, six blocks, three aces and three digs. Senior Matt Komer added 13 kills (.321), six digs and five blocks. Sophomore Chris Pena recorded 10 kills (.350), five blocks and an ace.

Northridge senior Ekhard Walter led the hosts with 22 kills (.318) and a pair of aces. In the Bruins' victory over the Gauchos on Feb. 19, Mount pounded a season-high of 24 kills (.476) and added six digs and five blocks.

The Gauchos boasted five players with double-digit kills, but were out-blocked by the Bruins, 17.5-9.0.

In the national statistical rankings, UCSB ranks second in team hitting percentage at .369. In the last match, the Bruins held them to an attack percentage of .260.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Jan 05 - 4:00 PM PST
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 08 - 4:30 PM PST
at Penn State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Jan 16 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 7:00 PM PST
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Feb 06 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA