Adam Simon Named To NCBWA's Stopper of the Year Watch List

Feb. 24, 2005

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - UCLA right-hander Adam Simon has been named to the intial watch list for the inagural National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, the association announced Wednesday. The award will be given annually to the top relief pitcher in Division I.

As of Wednesday, February 24, Simon, who is one of thirty pitchers to appear on the list, is 1-1 with a 3.00 ERA and two saves. He has held opponents to a meager .152 batting average in five appearances this season.

The junior has posted a career 4.98 ERA throughout his two-plus years in Westwood. He has posted eight saves in 72.1 innings pitched since 2003. Simon started one game as a freshman but has made 28 consecutive relief appearances in 2003-2004. Last season, Simon posted a 4.50 ERA while totalling a 2-3 record in 40 innings pitched. He has struck out 65 batters in his career.

Joining Simon on the list are UC Irvine's pre-season All-American Blair Erickson and South Carolina's Chad Blackwell, who finished 2004 with 17 and 20 saves, respectively.

The 2005 watch list represents 15 conferences, led by three players from each of the Atlantic Coast, Atlantic-10, Big Ten, Pac-10 and Southern conferences. California's Matt Swanson and Arizona State's Zechry Zinicola join Simon as the Pac-10 Conference's other two selections.

Finalists for the award will be announced on Wednesday June 1 and the NCBWA Stopper of the Year will be named on Wednesday, June 8.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS