Two Bruins Earn Soccer America Team of the Week Honors

Sept. 12, 2001

Los Angeles - UCLA women's soccer player Lindsay Greco and men's team member Tim Pierce were each named to Soccer America's Team of the Week on Wednesday after enjoying outstanding performances last weekend.

Greco, a sophomore from Trabuco Canyon, Calif., tallied nine points in two games at the University of Illinois' Orange & Blue Classic over the weekend. She netted her first-career hat trick in a 7-0 win over Louisville on Friday night and also added an assist, finishing the match with a game-high seven points. Against Syracuse on Sunday, she scored another goal in a 2-0 win over the Orangewomen, giving her nine points on the week. Only a sophomore, Greco currently leads the team in scoring, with 13 points (6g, 1a).

Pierce, a junior from Dana Point, Calif., was named the Most Valuable Player at the USF Diadora Classic over the weekend, leading the Bruins to a pair of wins and the team title. He tallied two goals in two games, including the game-winner in a 1-0 victory over Santa Clara on Sept. 9. Pierce notched the game's second goal in a 4-0 win over host San Francisco on Sept. 7. He has scored a goal in three consecutive matches for the No. 7 Bruins.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS