No. 2 UCLA Soccer Takes Inaugural Women's Cup Title

Oct. 7, 2001

Box Score

Los Angeles - Senior forward Stephanie Rigamat scored both UCLA goals Sunday as the No. 2 ranked Bruins cruised to a 2-0 victory over No. 25 Princeton at the 2001 UCLA Women's Cup at Drake Stadium.

With the victory, host UCLA (9-0) wins the first-ever Women's Cup title. Loyola Marymount, which defeated Cal Poly, 2-1 Sunday at LMU, takes second place. Cal Poly took third place on goal differential, while Princeton finished fourth.

Following a scoreless first half, UCLA took a 1-0 lead just 43 seconds into the second half when Bruin forward Staci Duncan fed Rigamat, who beat Princeton goalkeeper Catherine Glenn from about 20 yards out.

Rigamat scored the Bruins' second goal in the 57th minute of play after she dribbled into the box and blasted a hard, left-footed shot into the bottom left corner of the net.

With two goals on Sunday, Rigamat now leads the Bruins in scoring with 18 points (8g, 2a). Mary-Frances Monroe, who did not register either a goal or an assist for the first time all season on Sunday, ranks second in scoring with 15 points (6g, 3a).

With Sunday's win, UCLA remains undefeated on the season and extends its home-unbeaten streak to 17 matches. The Bruins have not lost a home game since Nov. 14, 1998.

UCLA will be at home again this week as the Bruins host the Arizona schools on Friday and Sunday. UCLA will face Arizona on Friday at 7:30 p.m. at Spaulding Field and Arizona State on Sunday at Drake Stadium. That match begins at Noon.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2