Titans Top Bruins, 7-2

Feb. 24, 2006

Box Score

Los Angeles - The No. 9 Cal State Fullerton Titans used a four run seventh inning to break open the game and secure a 7-2 win over UCLA at Jackie Robinson Stadium on Friday night. The loss drops the Bruins to 5-7, while the Titans improve to 6-4.

Junior Hector Ambriz went 2-for-4 with a run scored, and freshman Jermaine Curtis added a 2-for-4 performance with a double.

Cal State Fullerton took an early lead in the first inning with runners on first and third base and two outs. Ambriz stepped off the mound as Cal State Fullerton's Brett Pill began to steal second base. As Pill was caught in a run down, Blake Davis scored from third base giving the Titans a 1-0 lead.

UCLA responded in the second inning on back-to-back singles by Ambriz and Curtis to open the inning. Senior Brett McMillan advanced the two to second and third base on a sacrifice bunt. Senior Sean Smith was hit by a pitch to load the bases for the Bruins. Freshman Ryan Babineau then grounded out to shortstop to score Ambriz from third and tie the game at 1-1.

The Titans added another run in the third inning on a RBI double down the left field line by Clark Hardman to score Evan McArthur from first to go up 2-1.

The Bruins rallied for a run in the bottom of the third as freshman shortstop Brandon Crawford extended his hitting streak to 10 games with a single to center field. Crawford then advanced to third base on a throwing error by Cal State Fullerton's Wes Roemer as he threw back to first base. Senior Anthony Norman followed with a double down the left field line to score Crawford and tie the game at 2-2.

Cal State Fullerton added a run in the top of the sixth inning on a two-out RBI single by David Cooper to right field that scored Davis from second to put the Titans up 3-2.

The Titans broke the game open with four runs in the seventh inning to take a 7-2 lead, scoring on a throwing error by Ambriz to home, a wild pitch, and two RBI singles.

UCLA and Cal State Fullerton will resume the three-game series on Saturday, Feb. 25 at Goodwin Field at 6 p.m. The final game of the series will be on Sunday, Feb. 26 at Goodwin Field at 1 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS