Miami Outlasts UCLA, 3-1

Feb. 10, 2006

Box Score

Los Angeles -The UCLA baseball team dropped a close 3-1 decision to the No. 21-ranked Miami Hurricanes on Friday night at Jackie Robinson Stadium. With the loss, the Bruins drop to 1-3 on the season, while the Hurricanes improve to 4-2.

Junior right-handed pitcher Hector Ambriz led the Bruins on the mound and at the plate, finishing 2-for-3 with an RBI, and tossing 6.1 innings of solid work with two strikeouts, while giving up two runs on four hits.

The Bruins jumped on the board early, taking a 1-0 lead over Miami on a RBI single by Ambriz that scored junior outfielder Will Penniall from second in the bottom of the first inning.

Miami rallied in the second inning to tie the game at 1-1 on right fielder Tommy Giles' solo home run to right field. The Hurricanes tacked on one more in the fourth on a RBI double by first baseman Yonder Alonso, and another run in the eighth inning on a sacrifice fly by Alonso.

The Bruins and the Hurricanes will play in game two of a three-game series on Saturday, Feb. 11 at Jackie Robinson Stadium. Game time is set for 2 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS