Bruins Fall To ASU, 69-68

Feb 16, 2002

Box Score

LOS ANGELES (AP) - Curtis Millage snapped a tie with a 3-pointer with 13.8 seconds left to lead Arizona State to a 69-68 victory over No. 20 UCLA on Saturday, the Sun Devils' first victory at Pauley Pavilion in exactly 15 years.

Matt Barnes made two free throws on the ensuing possession. UCLA fouled Arizona State four times over the next 4.8 seconds, sending the Sun Devils to the line.

Kyle Dodd missed the front end of a one-and-one with 2.3 seconds left. Billy Knight grabbed the rebound, but was called for traveling with one second remaining.

Arizona State ran out the clock, clinching their first win at Pauley Pavilion since a 67-64 victory on Feb. 16, 1987.

"Our game plan was to take (Jason) Kapono out of the game as much as possible," Arizona State coach Rob Evans said. "We watched the Arizona film and he got loose at the end twice. We were not going to let that happen."

Chad Prewitt scored 22 points and Millage finished with 14 for Arizona State (14-10, 7-8 Pacific-10 Conference), which had lost 25 of its last 26 games against UCLA.

Dan Gadzuric scored 17 points, Jason Kapono and Cedric Bozeman each had 13, and Matt Barnes 10 for UCLA (17-8, 9-5), which lost for the fifth time in nine games.

The Bruins committed 18 turnovers, while the Sun Devils finished with nine.

"We're up and down," Kapono said. "You never know what to expect from us. We get too proud of ourselves after a win."

Arizona State shot 14-for-26 from the field in the second half after shooting 12-for-33 in the first half.

UCLA coach Steve Lavin said the Bruins' defense was lacking down the stretch.

"In the second half, we improved and put ourselves in a position to win, but in the last 3 minutes, we didn't get the stops and they made two key 3-pointers," Lavin said.

A layup by Gadzuric with 15:48 left gave the Bruins a 41-40 advantage, their first lead since the opening five minutes. Arizona State scored by the next six points on a layups by Prewitt and Jason Braxton and a dunk my Millage.

UCLA tied the score at 51 with 10:11 left. Prewitt and Justin Allen sandwiched 3-pointers around a free throw by Barnes to give the Sun Devils a 57-52 lead.

Two free throws by Kapono, after the Sun Devils' bench was called for a technical, capped a 7-0 run that gave UCLA a 59-57 lead with 6:45 left.

Millage and Jason Braxton followed with consecutive baskets to give the Sun Devils a 61-59 lead 48 seconds later.

Barnes hit a 3-pointer with 5:33 remaining to give the Bruins a 62-61 lead.

UCLA took a 66-63 lead with 3:35 remaining when Knight made two free throws. Prewitt hit a 3-pointer to tie the score at 66 with 2:11 remaining.

Arizona State led 36-31 at halftime.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA