UCLA Falls to Stanford 4-3 at Stanford Invitational

Feb. 9, 2003

In a game between unbeatens the No. 2 Bruins lost a hard fought game to No. 1 Stanford. The Bruins got out to an early lead with a goal by Senior Maureen Flanagan, but the Cardinal were able to tie the game up with 2:43 left in the first quarter. Both teams were scoreless for the rest of the first half. The Cardinal scored first in the third quarter to take the 2-1 lead, but Flanagan would answer back with her second goal of the game to tie the game at 2-2 heading into the fourth quarter. The Cardinal were able to take a 4-2 lead heading into the final minute of the fourth quarter. UCLA's Ashley Stachowski would bring the Bruins to within one goal after she converted a 6 on 5 with fifty-five seconds remaining. The Bruins would have one chance left, but with twenty seconds the Cardinal stole the ball to seal the game.

Maureen Flanagan finished the game with two goals and Ashley Stachowski had one. Goalie Jaime Hipp finished with ten saves.

For the Cardinal, Lauren Faust finished with two goals and Julie Gardner and Brenda Villa each scored once. Goalie Jackie Frank had eleven saves.

The Bruins finished the tournament with a 3-1 record and were lead in scoring by freshman Kelly Rulon who finished the tournament with five goals. UCLA will return to the pool on Wednesday, February 12th when they will travel to Irvine to play the twelfth ranked Anteaters at 4:00 PM. The Bruins first home game will be on Friday February 21st vs. No. 3 USC at 3:00 PM.

UCLA vs. Stanford - 2/9/03

Teams 1--2--3--4--Final

UCLA 1--0--1--1--3

Stanford 1--0--1--2--4

Goals: UCLA - Maureen Flanagan 2, Ashley Stachowski 1; Stanford - Lauren Faust 2, Julie Gardner 1, Brenda Villa 1.

Saves: UCLA - Jaime Hipp, 10; Stanford - Jackie Frank, 11


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Hawai'i
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 13 - 8
Saturday, Jan 23
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 8 - 5
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Long Beach State
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 4
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Michigan
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 7
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. USA Scrimmage
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 13
Saturday, Feb 13 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - TBA PST
vs. Loyola Marymount or ...
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 10:50 AM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
Saturday, Mar 05 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 7:40 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:40 PM PST
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 20 - 1:00 PM PST
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 12:15 PM PST
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 1:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Bakersfield, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS