Mora Breaks UCLA Career Assist Record

Sept. 18, 2005

Box Score

Moraga, Calif. - Senior forward Iris Mora put in a pair of goals and added an assist, helping the sixth-ranked UCLA women's soccer team to a 4-0 victory over St. Mary's on Sunday. With her team-leading fifth assist of the season, Mora now ranks first all-time at UCLA in career assists with 28. She surpasses former Bruin Traci Arkenberg, who registered 27 from 1994-97.

UCLA, which scored all of its goals in the first half, wasted no time getting on the board, as Mora tallied her first strike just 18 seconds into the match on an assist from Stacy Lindstrom. The Bruins added another goal a little more than six minutes later, when Danesha Adams recorded her third goal of the weekend on Mora's record-breaking assist. Adams also had both goals in a 2-1 overtime victory over No. 4 Santa Clara on Friday.

Already with a 2-0 advantage, UCLA added two more goals before the end of the half. Freshman Kara Lang was next to get in on the action, as a through ball from Caitlin Ursini led to her fifth goal of the year in the 22nd minute. Just moments later, Mora tallied her second goal of the match at the 22:56 mark. The assist was credited to Adams.

With the Bruins ahead comfortably so early on in the match, head coach Jillian Ellis was able to empty her bench, giving a total of 24 players, including three goalies, playing time Sunday.

The Bruins return home this week, hosting Denver on Friday at Drake Stadium beginning at 7:00 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS