Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Maui Invitational Brackets Announced
By: UCLA Athletics

Oct. 12, 2001

College basketball's premier early season tournament has changed its name to the EA Sports Maui Invitational. What has not changed is the tournament's status as the place to see some great basketball games.

Defending national champion and preseason number one Duke and consensus pre-season player of the year Jason Williams will not have an easy road to their third Maui title. If they can get by 2001 NIT team Seton Hall and new coach Louis Orr in the first round, they will face either South Carolina and new head coach Dave Odom, or the famed "giant killers" from Chaminade University in the second round.

The other side of the bracket boasts two storied programs with pre-season Top 10 rankings in Kansas, which will square off against Ball State, and UCLA, who matches up with Houston.

The 18th edition of the EA Sports Maui Invitational Hosted by Chaminade University will be played November 19, 20 and 21, 2001 at the 2,400-seat Lahaina Civic Center on the Hawaiian Island of Maui.

Once again, six games will be featured live on ESPN or ESPN2. It is possible more games may be carried live by ESPN Plus with those details to follow.

First round games will be played Monday, November 19. The schedule is as follows:
* Game 1 - Chaminade vs. South Carolina (ESPN at 9 a.m. Hawaiian time/11 a.m. PST)
* Game 2 - Ball State vs. Kansas (11:30 a.m./1:30 p.m.)
* Game 3 - Seton Hall vs. Duke (ESPN, 4 p.m./6 p.m.)
* Game 4 - Houston vs. UCLA (ESPN2, 6:30 p.m./8:30 p.m.)

Second round games on November 20 will be:
* Consolation Game 5 - Losers of Games 1 and 3 (9 a.m./11 a.m.)
* Consolation Game 6 - Losers of Games 2 and 4 (11 a.m./1 p.m.)
* Semifinal Game 7 - Winners of Games 1 and 3 (ESPN, 2 p.m./4 p.m.)
* Semifinal Game 8 - Winners of Game 2 and 4 (ESPN, 4:30 p.m./6:30 p.m.)

Final round games on November 21 will feature:
* Consolation Game 9 (7th place) - Losers of Games 5 and 6 (8:30 a.m./10:30 a.m.)
* Consolation Game 10 (5th place) - Winners of Games 5 and 6 (10:30 a.m./1:30 p.m.)
* Runner-up Game 11 (3rd place) - Losers of Games 7 and 8 (1:00 p.m./4 p.m.)
* Championship Game 12 - Winners of Games 7 and 8 (ESPN, 4 p.m./6 p.m.)

Additional Maui Invitational schedule, ticket and general information is available on-line at

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Nov 23 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
Tuesday, Nov 24 - TBA PST
vs. Kansas or Chaminade
Lahaina, HI
Wednesday, Nov 25 - TBA PST
vs. Maui Jim Maui ...
Lahaina, HI
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA