No. 8 Bruins Blank Oregon, 6-0

Oct. 10, 2004

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - Senior defender Kendal Billingsley recorded the first hat trick of her career Sunday, helping the eighth-ranked UCLA women's soccer team post a 6-0 victory over visiting Oregon at Drake Stadium. With the win, UCLA moves to 9-3 overall and 2-0 in the Pac-10. The Ducks fall to 3-8-1 and 0-2 in conference play.

UCLA, which improves its all-time record to 7-1 against the Ducks, got on the board in the 10th minute of the match on a goal by Kim Devine, who bent in a shot from deep in the right corner of the field. Michelle Gleason was credited with the assist. The Bruins' next goal came at the 26:37 mark when sophomore Bristyn Davis was dragged down inside the Oregon box resulting in a penalty kick. Billingsley put it in, giving the Bruins a 2-0 advantage.

UCLA scored once more before halftime when freshman Danesha Adams tallied her team-leading eighth goal of the season on an assist from Davis, who hit a high, bouncing ball that was misplayed by an Oregon defender trying to play it back to the goalkeeper. Adams was able to intercept it and score to give UCLA a 3-0 lead.

The second half was much of the same, as the Bruins tallied three more unanswered goals. Billingsley scored her second goal in the 47th minute when she cleaned up a loose ball in the Oregon box following a UCLA corner kick. Less than 10 minutes later, Davis gave the Bruins a 5-0 lead when she put in a close-range shot after receiving a through ball up the middle from midfielder Jill Oakes. It was Davis' seventh goal of the season. She leads the team in scoring with 19 points.

Billingsley capped the scoring for UCLA with her third goal of the match at the 86:25 mark. Iris Mora and Alma Playle were credited with assists on that goal. Billingsley's hat trick marks the 16th in the 12-year history of the program. It was also UCLA's second this season, as Devine had one against UCSB back on Sept. 5.

Oregon's best chance to score came on a penalty kick in the 17th minute, however Christine Mintz's shot hit the crossbar and bounced back into play. The Bruins outshot the Ducks, 20-7 on the day.

The Bruins will be on the road next week, traveling to the Pacific Northwest for matches against Washington State on Friday at 3:00 p.m. and No. 4 Washington on Sunday at Noon.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS