Men's Basketball Awards Announced
April 8, 1998

LOS ANGELES -- UCLA's senior trio--J. R. Henderson, Toby Bailey and Kris Johnson--, Wednesday received the Coach John Wooden Award as the Most Valuable Players on this year's men's basketball team at the Bruin Hoopsters' annual banquet at the Beverly Hilton. Henderson was the team's leading scorer (19.0) and rebounder (7.8), Johnson was the second-leading scorer (18.4) and led the Bruins in Pac-10 scoring with a 21.1 average and Bailey was the third-leading scorer (17.9) and second-leading rebounder (5.9). Henderson, a Wooden Award finalist, and Bailey were AP honorable mention All-Americans and both earned first-team All-Pacific-10 honors. Johnson was an honorable mention All-Pac-10 choice.

Johnson was the only multiple award winner, also getting the Bob "Ace" Calkins Trophy as the team's top free throw shooter (83.3).

1998 UCLA Basketball Bruin Hoopsters' Banquet Award Winners

Bob "Ace" Calkins Memorial Trophy-
presented to the team free throw champion
Kris Johnson

Elvin C. "Ducky" Drake Memorial Award-
for competitive spirit, inspiration and unselfish contribution
Rico Hines

Bruin Hoopsters J. D. Morgan Memorial Award-
for outstanding team play
Vince McGautha

UCLA Alumni Association Award-
for academic achievement and team contribution
Matt Harbour

Bruin Bench Basketball Award-
for most improvement in all-around play and mental attitude
Travis Reed

Seymour Armond Memorial Award-
for most valuable freshman player
Baron Davis

Irv Pohlmeyer Memorial Trophy-
for outstanding defensive player
Earl Watson

Coach John Wooden Award-
for most valuable player
J. R. Henderson, Kris Johnson, Toby Bailey

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events