Enter To Win Tickets - UCLA vs. Kentucky MBB
Janou Rubin Named UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete Of The Week

Jan. 5, 2004

Rubin, a walk-on from Union City Calif. who was given a scholarship this season, sparked the Bruins to a sweep of the Oregon schools and a 2-0 start in Pac-10. In two games versus the Oregon schools, Rubin averaged 21.0 minutes off the bench and 13.0 points, 2.0 rebounds, 2.5 assists, and shot 9-of-14 (.642) from the field, including 5-of-6 (.833) from three-point range.

In UCLA's win over Oregon State, Rubin, this week's Pac-10 Player of the Week, played a career-high tying 18 minutes off the bench to set a career-high with 13 points on 5-of-9 shooting, including 3-of-3 from three-point range. Rubin scored all of his points in the second half as the Bruins overcame a 10-point halftime deficit.

In UCLA's win over Oregon, Rubin again posted a career-high with 24 minutes off the bench, while matching his career-best with 13 points on 4-of-5 shooting. He also added a career-high three rebounds, two assists, a steal and a blocked shot.

This is Rubin's first UCLA/MET-Rx Student-Athlete of the Week honor of the season and of his career.

Also nominated: Noelle Quinn, W. Basketball (averaged 14.0 points, 5.7 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 2.6 steals in three games; scored career-highs in two games with 14 in the upset win over Ohio State and 16 against Oregon State)

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA