No. 3 Bruins Impressive in 2002 Opener

Aug. 30, 2002

Box Score

Los Angeles - The No. 3-ranked UCLA women's soccer team scored in the fifth minute of the match and didn't look back, registering a 6-0 decision over San Diego Friday in the season opener for both teams at UCLA's Drake Stadium.

Junior Sarah-Gayle Swanson got things started for the Bruins a little more than four minutes into the match, putting away a Lindsay Greco cross to give UCLA an early 1-0 advantage.

Swanson then scored her second goal of the match at the 34:11 mark with a powerful 15-yard blast into the top of the net, just beating goalkeeper Libby Bassett.

Following those two from Swanson, UCLA's freshman class then took control, scoring the next four goals.

Bruin freshman forward Iris Mora immediately made her presence felt as she scored her first collegiate goal just two minutes after entering the match, one-touching in a cross from fellow freshman Katie Rivera. Rivera then got a goal of her own in the 60th minute to put the Bruins ahead 4-0

Midfielder Stacy Lindstrom joined the freshmen coming out party at the 67:40 mark with a powerful header off a free kick from junior Kathryn Lee. Mora then capped off the scoring for UCLA, as she beat her defender on the left side and slipped in a perfectly placed ball in the top left corner of the USD goal.

Both of USD's shots came from sophomore midfielder Brooke Roby. The Bruins outshot the Toreros, 18-2.

UCLA's 6-0 decision Friday was its largest margin of victory in a season opener since 1993. That year, the first season of women's soccer at UCLA, the Bruins defeated Southern California College, 11-0. UCLA is now 8-2 in season openers.

Next up for the Bruins is the 2002 UCLA Women's Cup, Sept. 6 and 8 at Drake Stadium. On Friday, Sept. 6 UCLA will take on No. 6 Virginia beginning at 2:00 p.m. UCLA will face No. 8 Penn State on Sunday, Sept. 8, also at 2:00 p.m.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2