Chat With Bob Toledo On

Sept. 21, 1999

Today at 1:00 p.m. PT, UCLA head football coach Bob Toledo will make a special appearance in chat to talk about his team and the 1999 season.

In only three years as UCLA's 14th head coach, Toledo has returned the Bruins to a place among the nation's elite programs. The Bruins enjoyed a fabulous season in 1998, climbing as high as No. 2 on both wire service polls. They finished the year with a 10-2 record, a berth in the Rose Bowl as the Pac-10 champions and a No. 8 ranking.

UCLA has now won back-to-back Pacific-10 Conference championships. UCLA is only the third program in Pac-10 history to win 15 conference games over two seasons and only the fourth to win eight league games in one year. The Bruins had won 20 consecutive games prior to the regular-season finale at Miami.

Toledo was a finalist for three Coach of the Year awards -- the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award and the Football News Coach of the Year Award. His UCLA record is 25-10 and his winning percentage of .714 is the second-highest in UCLA history behind only the legendary Red Sanders among coaches with at least three years on the job.

Visit the ESPN chat room and submit a question for Coach Toledo. You can also follow the chat live by returning to the ESPN chat room at 1:00 p.m. PT!

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Virginia
Pasadena, CA
W, 34 - 16
Saturday, Sep 12
Las Vegas, NV
W, 37 - 3
Saturday, Sep 19
vs. Brigham Young
Pasadena, CA
W, 24 - 23
Saturday, Sep 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 56 - 30
Saturday, Oct 03
vs. Arizona State
Pasadena, CA
L, 23 - 38
Thursday, Oct 15
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 35 - 56
Thursday, Oct 22
vs. California
Pasadena, CA
W, 40 - 24
Saturday, Oct 31
vs. Colorado
Pasadena, CA
W, 35 - 31
Saturday, Nov 07
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 41 - 0
Saturday, Nov 14
vs. Washington State
Pasadena, CA
L, 27 - 31
Saturday, Nov 21
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 17 - 9
Saturday, Nov 28
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 21 - 40