Baron Davis High on Charlotte's List

June 30, 1999

FORT MILL, S.C. - In a perfect world, Charlotte Hornets general manager Bob Bass would have a choice between Elton Brand, Baron Davis and Steve Francis in the NBA draft.

In reality, Bass expects Brand and Francis to be eliminated from the equation by the time the Hornets make the third overall selection in tonight's draft.

"It looks like Davis would be our guy," Bass said Tuesday, "and we would not hesitate to take him."

Bass said the Hornets narrowed their list of coveted players to Brand, the power forward from Duke, Davis, the versatile point guard from UCLA, and Francis, the high-flying scoring guard from Maryland.

But Bass figures Chicago and Vancouver, with the first two picks, will grab Brand and Francis.

If either Brand or Francis is still available when the Hornets pick, Charlotte would consider selecting one of them instead of Davis, Bass said. But based on conversations he has had with fellow executives around the league, Bass considers that scenario unlikely, prompting what he called an easy decision.

"It's so obvious," he said. "We want a point guard."

Bass said the Hornets, who beat the odds in the NBA's draft lottery and moved up considerably in the selection order, would not consider taking Davis and then trading him for proven veterans.

"We've got a veteran team already," he said.

That group includes starting point guard David Wesley, 28, who just completed the second season of a seven-year, $22 million contract. Wesley directed an offense that helped Charlotte to its third consecutive winning season, but the team's depth chart behind him is thin.

The Hornets are not overly concerned about Davis' surgically repaired left knee or his stated desire to play professionally in his native California, Bass said.

A torn anterior cruciate ligament in the 1998 NCAA tournament was followed by an operation and rehabilitation that kept Davis out of the first four games of the 1998-99 season. But he started the final 26 games and led UCLA with averages of 15.9 points, 5.1 assists and 2.5 steals.

Bass said the knee looked solid during examinations conducted at the NBA's predraft camp in Chicago.

By JOE MACENKA
AP Sports Writer


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS