2016 NFL Draft
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Thomas and Nece Named Butkus Semi-Finalists
By: UCLA Athletics

Oct. 18, 2001

The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO) has announced the 12 semi-finalists for this year's Butkus Award®, which is awarded annually to the best linebacker in college football. There was a three-way tie for 10th place. This is the second time in three years that there have been more than 10 semi-finalists. The Butkus Award® has been presented since 1985.

The list was determined by confidential balloting of the 29-member Butkus Award® Selection Committee, comprised of the nation's foremost media members. The Selection Committee made their selections from the initial Butkus Award® Watch List of 69 college linebackers, which was announced back on August 23, 2001.

On Thursday, November 15, 2001, DACO will announce the three finalists for this year's Butkus Award® at a national teleconference from the Downtown Marriott Orlando. The three Butkus Award® finalists and their coaches will participate in the announcement. The 2001 Butkus Award® winner will be announced at the Butkus Award® Presentation Ceremony on Friday, December 7, 2001 by the award's namesake Dick Butkus.

The 12 semi-finalists (in alphabetical order) for the 2001 Butkus Award® are:

1. Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma
2. Andra Davis, Florida
3. Kalimba Edwards, South Carolina
4. Trev Faulk, LSU
5. LeVar Fisher, NC State
6. Larry Foote, Michigan
7. E.J. Henderson, Maryland
8. D.D. Lewis, Texas
9. Ryan Nece, UCLA
10. Ben Taylor, Virginia Tech
11. Robert Thomas, UCLA
12. Josh Thornhill, Michigan State

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 03 - 12:30 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Sep 10 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. UNLV
Pasadena, CA
Saturday, Sep 17 - TBA PST
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT
Saturday, Sep 24 - TBA PST
vs. Stanford
Pasadena, CA