UCLA Travels to UC Irvine for Regular Season MPSF Finale

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

April 11, 2002

The UCLA men's volleyball team plays in its final regular season league match Fri., Apr. 12 against UC Irvine at Crawford Hall. First serve is scheduled for 7 p.m.

The Bruins (24-6, 16-5) defeated Cal State Northridge 3-0 on Wednesday night to lock up the home court advantage for the first round of the MPSF playoffs beginning Apr. 20.

"The team looked good," said Head Coach Al Scates. "They [the Bruins] were not as well rested as they usually are before a match because they had two tough practices this week. We had a lot of work to do."

Wednesday night's victory also snapped a three-match losing skid that had dropped the Bruins from first place to third in the conference standings.

Senior Matt Komer, who led UCLA with 14 kills (.407), and sophomore Chris Pena, who added 10 kills (.444) and three aces, turned in solid performances. Junior Cameron Mount led the team with eight total blocks and sophomore Adam Shrader recorded 11 digs.

UCLA has defeated UC Irvine twice this season: 3-0 on Jan. 11 in UCI's tournament and 3-2 on Mar. 15 in a league match at Pauley Pavilion. In the Mar. 15 contest, the Bruins skipped out to a 2-0 lead before the Anteaters stormed back to capture Games 3 & 4. The Bruins won Game 5, 15-11.

Komer led the Bruins with 21 kills (.447), and added four blocks, nine digs and two aces. Mount and freshman Jonathan Acosta each added 15 kills with eight and six total blocks, respectively.

UCLA leads the series against UC Irvine 42-1 and has won six straight matches against the Anteaters. On Feb. 24, 1999, the Anteaters defeated the Bruins 3-2 in Pauley Pavilion for their only victory in the series.

The Anteaters (6-15, 12-16) had lost five straight road matches before sweeping Long Beach State, 3-0, at home on Apr. 9. UC Irvine boasts a non-conference five-game victory over Pepperdine on Jan. 12.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Jan 05 - 4:00 PM PST
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 08 - 4:30 PM PST
at Penn State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Jan 16 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 7:00 PM PST
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Feb 06 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA