Matt McKinney Signs NLI to Play Basketball, Volleyball at UCLA

Nov. 14, 2001

Matt McKinney, a 6-8, 200-pound basketball and volleyball standout at Santa Ynez, CA HS, has signed a National Letter of Intent to play basketball at UCLA and also compete in volleyball, Bruin head men's basketball coach Steve Lavin announced Wednesday.

Entering his senior season on the basketball court, McKinney is rated the No. 3 forward in the State by PrepWestHoops. As a junior hoopster in 2000-01, McKinney averaged 22 points and 13 rebounds, earning All-CIF honors.

In volleyball, McKinney helped Santa Ynez win its third consecutive Southern Section Div. III championship and he is a two-time All-CIF outside hitter. Santa Ynez HS is a national prep volleyball power, producing U. S. National Team members George Roumain and Andy Witt.

"Matt McKinney is one of the nation's top two-sport high school athletes," Lavin said. "He has impressive athletic talents that enable him to excel at two different sports. His versatility and athletic ability will make him a great addition to our team next year."

Bruin men's head volleyball coach Al Scates agrees with Lavin's assessment of McKinney's talents. "Matt McKinney is an elite volleyball player with Olympic-team potential," said Scates, who has won 18 NCAA Men's Volleyball crowns during his 39+years at UCLA. "In my opinion, he's one of the two best high school volleyball players in the nation. We look forward to him playing volleyball for the Bruins after the men's basketball season is completed." UCLA on Wednesday also signed the nation's other top-ranked prep men's volleyball player - Pat Nihipali from Mira Costa HS in Manhattan Beach.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA