Volleyball Advances To NCAA Regional Semifinals With Sweep of Long Beach State

Dec. 4, 2004

Final Stats

LOS ANGELES - Brynn Murphy and Becky Green notched 15 kills apiece as 15th-seeded UCLA (20-10) advanced to its fifth Regional Semifinal in the last six years with a 31-29, 30-24, 30-27 sweep of Long Beach State (24-7) in Saturday's second round of the NCAA Tournament at Pauley Pavilion.

UCLA will now travel to Seattle next weekend and face second-seeded Penn State on Friday night. The winner of the UCLA-PSU match will battle either #7 seed Washington or #10 seed St. Mary's in Saturday's Regional Final for the right to advance to the final four.

Long Beach State scored the first three points of the match, but UCLA battled back, finally knotting the game at 16-16 on a kill by Green. The Bruins would not take their first lead of the match until a kill by Nana Meriwether gave UCLA a 21-20 edge. A kill by Murphy two plays later gave UCLA the lead for good at 22-21. The Bruins had three game points at 29-26, but LBSU used a pair of kills and a Bruin error to tie the game at 29-29. A block assist by UCLA's Meriwether and Green gave the Bruins a 30-29 edge and UCLA finally took game one at 31-29 on an error by LBSU's Mariko Crum.

Game two saw several ties early. UCLA finally opened some distance on the scoreboard with a 7-2 run late in the game to give the Bruins a 24-17 lead. UCLA allowed Long Beach State just eight points off the 49ers serve the entire game and a Rachell Johnson kill ended game two at 30-24 and gave UCLA a 2-0 lead in the match.

Game three went back-and-forth as the teams were tied eight times and traded the lead four times. The game was tied as late at 26-26 before kills by UCLA's Brittany Ringel and Becky Green - sandwiched around an LBSU hitting error - gave UCLA triple match point at 29-26. LBSU's Makini Thompson erased one match point, but once again Johnson notched a kill to give UCLA the 30-27 game three win and send the Bruins into the next round of the NCAA Tournament.

The win, UCLA's 20th of the season, marks the sixth-straight season in which UCLA has tallied at least 20 wins. Murphy paced UCLA with her 15 kills and a .444 hitting percentage while Green added 15 kills and a .268 percentage.

Chrissie Zartman notched 28 digs in the three games, a career-best for the three-time first-team All-Pac-10 libero. Zartman also surpassed the 2,000 career dig plateau, entering next weekend with 2,005 career digs. She becomes just the 10th player in NCAA Division I history to record 2,000 career kills. Meriwether added seven kills and a match-high four block assists in the win.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
(25-19, 25-19, 25-18)
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
(25-20, 25-16, 25-13)
Sunday, Sep 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-16, 25-27, 25-17, 28-26)
Friday, Sep 11
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-13, 24-26, 25-21, 25-23)
Saturday, Sep 12
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-20, 25-22, 25-16)
Sunday, Sep 13
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-19, 27-25, 25-23)
Friday, Sep 18
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-23, 25-17, 25-21)
Friday, Sep 18
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-20, 19-25, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Sep 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(22-25, 12-25, 19-25)
Sunday, Sep 27
at California
Berkeley, CA
(25-20, 27-25, 25-16)
Friday, Oct 02
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
(29-31, 16-25, 15-25)
Sunday, Oct 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 25-18, 30-28)
Friday, Oct 09
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
(17-25, 25-12, 25-15, 25-16)
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Saturday, Dec 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Dec 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Thursday, Dec 17 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE
Saturday, Dec 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE