Bruins Top 2004 USA Today/NFCA Softball Pre-Season Softball Poll

Jan. 29, 2004

STARKVILLE, MS - Defending NCAA Champions UCLA tops the USA Today/National Fastpitch Coaches Association Preseason Division I Top-25 poll, it was announced on Wednesday. The poll is voted on by 27 NCAA Division I coaches representing different conferences.

UCLA returns 11 players from last year's championship team, including Women's College World Series Most Valuable Player Keira Goerl, who tossed the first no-hitter in the history of the NCAA Championship game last May.

Seven of the eight Pac-10 schools that sponsor softball are represented in the poll, with Pac-10 schools holding four of the top five spots. Ranked in the top five along with the Bruins are Arizona at No. 2, California at No. 3 and Washington at No. 5. Stanford (15th), Oregon (16th) and Arizona State (20th) are also ranked in the poll's top-20, while Oregon State is receiving votes and ranked 29th.

The complete poll is below. Records are from the 2003 season. First-place votes are in parentheses. n No. Team (1st Place Votes) '03 Record Pts Last Poll
1. UCLA (26) 54-7 674 1
2 Arizona 56-7 632 3
3. California (1) 49-20 629 2
4. Oklahoma 47-14 535 5
5. Washington 47-16-1 515 6
6. Alabama 49-21 514 7
7. Georgia 57-14 455 11
8. Nebraska 39-17 439 13
9. Louisiana-Lafayette 47-11 425 8
10. Michigan 44-16 425 12
(tie) Texas 49-9 419 4
12. DePaul 48-7-1 375 9
13. Cal State Fullerton 41-15 329 10
14. LSU 50-18 311 15
15. Stanford 41-26 262 23
16. Oregon 37-19 258 16
17. Iowa 44-15 242 t-17
18. Texas A&M 38-22 208 t-17
19. Florida State 46-11 198 19
20. Arizona State 32-25 195 20
21. Oklahoma State 39-15 184 14
22. South Carolina 39-19 90 21
23. Fresno State 36-22 80 NR
24. Southern Illinois 39-14 77 22
25. Michigan State 40-19 72 24

Others receiving votes: South Florida 50, Tennessee 39, Florida 29, Northwestern 29, Texas State-San Marcos 25, Oregon State 23, Massachusetts 8, Illinois 6, Minnesota 5, Notre Dame 4, Hawaii 4, Mississippi State 3, Florida Atlantic 3.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
L, 7 - 11
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 15 - 7 (5)
Saturday, May 07
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Sunday, May 08
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Rained Out
Friday, May 20
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, May 21
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Saturday, May 28 - 6:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS