Barnes, Leroux Earn NSCAA All-America Honors

Dec. 5, 2010

LOS ANGELES - UCLA's Lauren Barnes and Sydney Leroux were recognized as two of the best women's soccer players in the country this week, as both players were named to the NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-America Third Team.

Barnes, a senior defender from Upland, Calif., was the leader of the Bruin defense that surrendered less than a goal a game (0.84) in 2010. Under her direction the defense also posted nine shutouts in 23 matches. In addition to her efforts on the back line, Barnes was also a significant contributor on offense, ranking second on the team in scoring with 16 points (5g, 6a). Her six assists was a team high. It marks the first All-America honor for Barnes, who also earned first-team All-Pac-10 accolades this season.

Leroux, a junior forward from Vancouver, British Columbia, led UCLA in scoring for the second straight season in 2010, finishing the year with 27 points on 13 goals and one assist. She also led the team in game-winning goals this season with six. It marks her second NSCAA All-America honor, as she was named to the third team in 2009. Like Barnes, she was also named to the All-Pac-10 First Team.

The complete 2010 NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-America Teams can be found HERE.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS