Bruins Blank Sun Devils, 2-0

Oct. 23, 2011

Box Score | Postgame Video

LOS ANGELES - Sophomore Chelsea Stewart had a hand in both Bruin goals on Sunday, helping the third-ranked women's soccer team to a 2-0 victory over Arizona State before 1,177 fans at Drake Stadium. The win completes a weekend sweep for the Bruins, who also defeated Arizona, 6-1 on Friday evening.

UCLA (12-1-3; 5-1-2 Pac-12) got on the board in the 28th minute on Stewart's second goal of the season. After taking a pass from freshman Samantha Mewis, Stewart dribbled near the top of the box and unleashed an 18-yard shot into the upper right corner to give UCLA a 1-0 lead.

Seven minutes after Stewart's goal, sophomore Jenna Richmond notched her first score of the season on a close-range shot at the 34:25 mark. Stewart was credited with the assist on that goal.

UCLA outshot ASU, 18-9 on the day. It marks the 10th shutout of the season for the Bruins. Katelyn Rowland and Alana Munger each played 45 minutes in goal for UCLA, which has now won 11 in a row over ASU.

With the loss, the Sun Devils fall to 6-10 overall and 2-6 in the Pac-12.

The UCLA players were wearing pink and white jerseys on Sunday as part of the team's annual Breast Cancer Awareness game. The jerseys are currently being auctioned off HERE. All proceeds from the jersey sales will go to the Revlon/UCLA Breast Center.

The Bruins will play their final two road matches of the regular season next weekend, as UCLA faces Colorado on Friday and Utah on Sunday.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2