Three Women's Soccer Players Named First-Team All-Pac-12

Nov. 9, 2011

LOS ANGELES - UCLA women's soccer players Sydney Leroux, Zakiya Bywaters and Abby Dahlkemper were named to the All-Pac-12 First-Team on Wednesday, highlighting a total of seven players who were honored by the conference.

For Leroux, it marks the third all-conference honor of her career and second-straight selection to the first team. The senior forward from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada was also named to the All-Pac-10 Second Team as a sophomore in 2009. Leroux has enjoyed a fantastic senior season, leading the conference in game-winning goals with eight. She also ranks second in the Pac-12 in points (35), goals (16) and shots (83). Leroux, who has led the Bruins in scoring the last three seasons, heads into the postseason with a team-best 35 points on 16 goals and three assists.

Bywaters, a junior midfielder from Las Vegas, Nevada, was named an All-Pac-10 Honorable Mention selection a year ago. She has started all 19 matches for the Bruins this season, registering 12 points on three goals and six assists. Dahlkemper, a freshman defender from Menlo Park, Calif., has been instrumental in helping the team surrender just 11 goals in 19 matches this season. She has also helped the Bruins rank second in the Pac-12 with 12 shutouts.

In addition to the team's three first-team selections, freshman Samantha Mewis, who ranks second on the team in scoring with 18 points (6g, 6a), was named to the Pac-12 Second-Team.

The Bruins also had more players on the Pac-12 All-Freshman Team than any other school, as Dahlkemper, Mewis, Caprice Dydasco and Katelyn Rowland were all named to that squad.

Stanford swept the Pac-12's three year-end awards, as Lindsay Taylor was named Player of the Year, Chioma Ubogagu was named Freshman of the Year and Paul Ratcliffe was named Coach of the Year.

Pac-12 All-Conference

First Team
Lindsay Taylor, STAN
Sydney Leroux, UCLA
Chelsea Buckland, OSU
Brandi Vega, WSU
Teresa Noyola, STAN
Camille Levin, STAN
Zakiya Bywaters, UCLA
Abby Dahlkemper, UCLA
Alina Garciamendez, STAN
Scout Libke, ORE
Emily Oliver, STAN

Second Team
Chioma Ubogagu, STAN
Erin Dalley, UTAH
Jenna Richardson, OSU
Rachel Quon, STAN
Danielle Brunache, CAL
Rachael Doyle, WSU
Samantha Mewis, UCLA
Brittany Kerridge, USC
Kate Deines, WASH
Betsy Hassett, CAL
Jorde LaFontaine-Kussman, WASH

Honorable Mention
Mariah Nogueira, STAN; Colleen Boyd, OSU; Lauren Battung, CAL; Taylor McCarter, ASU; Kaitlyn Fitzpatrick, CAL; Lauren Porter, UTAH; Sarah Martinez, WASH; Brittany Galindo, OSU; Jocelyn Jeffers, WSU; Elizabeth Eddy, USC; Amy Barczuk, COLO.

All-Freshman Team
Chioma Ubogagu, STAN
Samantha Mewis, UCLA
Jocelyn Jeffers, WSU
Abby Dahlkemper, UCLA
Caprice Dydasco, UCLA
Bri Pugh, ORE
Nicole Setterlund, WSU
Avery Ford, UTAH
Kendall Romine, STAN
Jaclyn Softli, WASH
Katelyn Rowland, UCLA

Player of the Year: Lindsay Taylor, STAN
Freshman of the Year: Chioma Ubogagu, STAN
Coach of the Year: Paul Ratcliffe, STAN

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events