Nelson, Smith Named to Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 List

Oct. 3, 2011

LOS ANGELES - Junior Reeves Nelson and sophomore Joshua Smith of the UCLA men's basketball team have been named to the John R. Wooden Award men's preseason top 50 list, as announced Monday by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Nelson led UCLA in points per game (13.9) and rebounds per game (9.1) as a sophomore in 2010-11, before earning first-team All-Pac-10 honors. Smith secured Pac-10 All-Freshman Team acclaim last season, averaging 10.9 points per game and 6.3 rebounds per game.

Chosen by a preseason poll of national college basketball media members, the list is comprised of 50 student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most prestigious honor.

UCLA was one of nine schools to have at least two players selected to the preseason list.

Two UCLA men's basketball players have won the John R. Wooden Award in the past. Marques Johnson earned college basketball's first-ever Wooden Award as a senior during the 1976-77 season. Ed O'Bannon became UCLA's second Wooden Award winner as a senior in 1994-95.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. The players on the preseason list are considered strong candidates for the midseason list and the official voting ballot, both of which are open to freshmen and transfer students.

The National Ballot consists of approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The Wooden Award All-American Team, consisting of the nation's top 10 players, will be announced the week of the "Elite Eight" round of the NCAA Tournament.

The 36th annual Wooden Award ceremony marks the 25th anniversary of the selection of the Naval Academy's David Robinson as the Wooden Award winner. The 2012 event will honor the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award. The event will take place the weekend of April 6-8, 2012.

John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 List

Player Ht. Yr. Pos. School
Tim Abromaitis 6-8 Sr. F Notre Dame
Harrison Barnes 6-8 So. F North Carolina
Will Barton 6-6 So. G Memphis
Dee Bost 6-2 Sr. G Mississippi State
William Buford 6-5 Sr. G Ohio State
Allen Crabbe 6-6 So. G California
Aaron Craft 6-2 So. G Ohio State
Marcus Denmon 6-3 Sr. G Missouri
Festus Ezeli 6-11 Sr. C Vanderbilt
Ashton Gibbs 6-2 Sr. G Pittsburgh
Michael Glover 6-7 Sr. F Iona
Drew Gordon 6-9 Sr. F New Mexico
Draymond Green 6-7 Sr. F Michigan State
JaMychal Green 6-8 Sr. F Alabama
Jorge Gutierrez 6-3 Sr. G California
Tim Hardaway, Jr. 6-5 So. G Michigan
Elias Harris 6-7 Jr. F Gonzaga
John Henson 6-11 Jr. F North Carolina
Tu Holloway 6-0 Sr. G Xavier
Robbie Hummel 6-8 Sr. F Purdue
Joe Jackson 6-1 So. G Memphis
Scoop Jardine 6-2 Sr. G Syracuse
John Jenkins 6-3 Jr. G Vanderbilt
Orlando Johnson 6-5 Sr. G UC Santa Barbara
Darius Johnson-Odom 6-2 Sr. G Marquette
Kevin Jones 6-8 Sr. F West Virginia
Terrence Jones 6-8 So. F Kentucky
Perry Jones III 6-11 So. F Baylor
Kris Joseph 6-7 Sr. F Syracuse
Jeremy Lamb 6-5 So. G Connecticut
Kendall Marshall 6-4 So. G North Carolina
Trevor Mbakwe 6-8 Sr. F Minnesota
Ray McCallum 6-1 So. G Detroit
Doug McDermott 6-7 So. F Creighton
Khris Middleton 6-7 Jr. F Texas A&M
Reeves Nelson 6-8 Jr. F UCLA
Andrew Nicholson 6-9 Sr. F St. Bonaventure
Alex Oriakhi 6-9 Jr. C Connecticut
Thomas Robinson 6-9 Jr. F Kansas
John Shurna 6-9 Sr. F Northwestern
Peyton Siva 6-0 Jr. G Louisville
Joshua Smith 6-10 So. C UCLA
Jared Sullinger 6-9 So. C Ohio State
Jeffery Taylor 6-7 Sr. G/F Vanderbilt
Jordan Taylor 6-1 Sr. G Wisconsin
Casper Ware 5-10 Sr. G Long Beach State
Maalik Wayns 6-2 Jr. G Villanova
Keith Wright 6-8 Sr. F Harvard
Patric Young 6-9 So. F/C Florida
Tyler Zeller 7-0 Sr. F North Carolina

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX