18th-Ranked Bruins Shellac #20 Hawai'i

Feb. 15, 2013

Box Score
UCLA Softball on Twitter | UCLA Softball on Facebook
2013 UCLA Softball Media Guide

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - Senior B.B. Bates posted her fourth-career, two-homer game and had a personal-best five runs batted in, while sophomore Ally Carda went 2-for-2 with a two-run homer at the plate and struck out nine in five innings in the circle, as #18 UCLA pounded #20 Hawai'i 11-1 in five innings on Friday at Eller Media Stadium.

Carda had 1-2-3 innings in the first, fourth and fifth, striking out two apiece in every frame but the third. Six Bruins (4-1) had at least one hit, as UCLA had nine as a team.

The Bruins jumped all over Hawai'i (6-3) starter Keiki Carlos in the bottom of the first. Sophomore Gracie Goulder led off with a four-pitch walk and Bates crushed her second homer of the season to center over both fences surrounding Eller Media Stadium to make it 2-0. One out later, junior Alyssa Tiumalu grounded a ball to the 5-6 hole, but shortstop Jessica Iwata's throw to first was low and got away, allowing Tiumalu to take second on the error. One out later, Carda hit an 0-1 pitch over the left-center field wall for her second bomb of the season to put the Bruins up 4-0.

UCLA tacked on three more in the second. Freshman Allexis Bennett led off with a walk, stole her first collegiate base and moved to third on a grounder to the right side off the bat of Goulder. Bates walked and then swiped second, and when catcher Kayla Wartner's throw went into center, Bennett came home with the Bruins' fifth run. Bates would move to third on a single to left by sophomore Stephany LaRosa, who moved to second on a ground out by Tiumalu. Junior Jessica Hall followed with an in-between rocket that bounced off of Iwata at short and ricocheted into center, allowing Bates and LaRosa to score on the single to make it 7-0.

The Rainbow Wahine got on the board in the third. With one out, they loaded the bases on a single by Brynne Buchanan, a walk to Kelly Majam and an infield single by Wartner. Carlos then lifted a sacrifice fly to right to bring home Buchanan to make it 7-1.

The Bruins invoked the mercy rule for the second time this season in the bottom of the fifth. Carda led off with a double to left and was pinch-run for by sophomore Sam Duran, who moved to third on an illegal pitch. One out later, freshman Mysha Sataraka singled up the middle to bring in Duran for UCLA's eighth run. Two batters later with two out and two on, Bates cranked her second homer of the game and third of the season to right to finish off an 11-1 victory.

The Bruins are back in action on Saturday against San Jose State (9 a.m.) and Seattle University (11:15 a.m.) at Stephanie Lynn Craig Park Field 1 (1725 Galleria Drive, Henderson, NV 89014). Gametracker will be available at UCLABruins.com, as well as live updates at twitter.com/uclasoftball.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 12 - 1:00 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 3:15 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Sunday, Feb 14 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 9:30 AM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Lakewood, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - 4:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Apr 03 - 2:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 24 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Monday, Apr 25 - 7:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Apr 29 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS