No. 3 UCLA Blanks Washington, 2-0

Oct. 27, 2006

Box Score

LOS ANGELES - The third-ranked UCLA women's soccer team extended its winning streak to nine straight Friday evening, as the Bruins posted a 2-0 victory over Washington at Drake Stadium. UCLA, which improves to 15-2 overall, remains undefeated in the Pac-10 at 6-0. With the loss, the Huskies fall to 6-11 overall and 1-5 in conference play.

UCLA got on the board in the 19th minute of play on a penalty kick by Danesha Adams. After receiving a through ball up the middle, Adams got free on a breakaway, creating a one-on-one situation with Washington goalkeeper Kelsey Rasmussen, who subsequently pulled her down in the box after a failed attempt at the ball.

The Bruins struck again in the 65th minute on a goal by sophomore Christina DiMartino. Defender Bristyn Davis broke free on the right side, sending a ball in to DiMartino, who chested the ball down to her feet before unleashing a right-footed shot into the top right corner of the goal.

Both UCLA's Valerie Henderson and Rasmussen finished with four saves apiece. UCLA outshot Washington 11-6 on the night.

The Bruins return to action on Sunday, hosting Washington State at Noon. It will mark the final regular-season home match for the Bruins this season.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC
Sunday, Dec 06 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC