Track & Field Begins Indoor Season This Weekend

Jan. 27, 2011

The men's and women's track and field squads will kick off the 2011 indoor season this weekend when they travel to Seattle to compete at the UW Invitational. The two-day meet runs on Friday and Saturday.

The men's team will have a squad competing in the distance medley relay on Friday night, while all other athletes will compete on Saturday. Last season, the foursome of Scott Crawford, Quentin Powell, Cory Primm and Marlon Patterson set a new school record in the event (9:31.07) to win the MPSF crown and went on to earn All-America honors at the NCAA Meet. The men's team will also be competing in distance events on Saturday.

The women's team will be sending a squad consisting of sprinters, hurdlers, distance runners and relays. The 4x400m relay will be in action, as well as several provisional qualifiers from last year's team like Lindsay Rowe (60m hurdles), Ashlea McLaughlin (400m) and Joy Eaton (400m).

This year, the NCAA has gotten rid of provisional qualifiers for the NCAA Championships. Instead, there will only be an automatic standard in each event. An athlete or relay that achieves the auto mark will automatically advance to the NCAA Indoor meet, while the remaining spots for Nationals will come based off of position on the national descending order list.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Razorback ...
Fayetteville, AR
Recap
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Frank Sevigne Husker ...
Lincoln, NE
Recap
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Husky Classic
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Alex Wilson ...
Notre Dame, IN
Recap
Friday, Feb 26
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. MPSF Championships
Seattle, WA
Recap
Friday, Mar 11
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Recap
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. NCAA Indoor ...
Birmingham, AL
Recap
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Friday, Apr 01
vs. The Legends Distance ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Bruin Legends of ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Mt. SAC Relays
Norwalk, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Texas A&M
Los Angeles, CA
Recap
LIVE NOW
vs. Olympic Training ...
Chula Vista, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
-
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Recap
Sunday, May 01 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. Occidental ...
Eagle Rock, CA
Sunday, May 08 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, May 14 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Sunday, May 15 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Seattle, WA
Thursday, May 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Friday, May 27 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Saturday, May 28 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals ...
Lawrence, KS
Wednesday, Jun 08 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jun 09 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Friday, Jun 10 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Jun 11 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS