No. 5 Women's Soccer Dispatches of Illinois, 2-0

Aug. 26, 2012

Box Score |  Photo Gallery 
Postgame Video Report

LOS ANGELES - In a battle of top 25 opponents at Drake Stadium on Sunday afternoon, the fifth-ranked UCLA women's soccer team picked up a win in its 2012 home opener, scoring two second-half goals to register a 2-0 victory over No. 22 Illinois. With the result, the Bruins improve to 3-0 on the season while Illinois sees its record fall to 2-1-1.

Although the Bruins didn't find the back of the net in the first half, they didn't waste any time getting on the board in the second 45 minutes of play on Sunday, moving out to a 1-0 advantage less than three minutes after intermission on Zakiya Bywaters' first goal of the year. Defender Abby Dahlkemper lofted a ball over the Illinois defense to a charging Bywaters, who dribbled past Fighting Illini goalkeeper Steph Panozzo before scoring from close range.

Like Bywaters, sophomore Ally Courtnall also picked up her first goal of the season on Sunday, adding an insurance goal for the Bruins in the 61st minute. The play started when senior Chelsea Cline got free in the middle of the field and sent a perfect through ball to Courtnall, who dribbled just inside the 18-yard box before finishing with a right-footed shot to the left corner.

UCLA, which is still without three players who are competing at the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in Japan, outshot Illinois, 15-8 on the afternoon. Sophomore Katelyn Rowland played the entire match in goal for the Bruins, making three saves.

The Bruins will have the next four days off from competition before taking on another Big Ten opponent on Friday, as No. 20 Wisconsin visits Drake Stadium for a 7:00 p.m. showdown.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC
Sunday, Dec 06 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Cary, NC