#19 UCLA Drops Series Finale in Extra Innings to #8 California

April 13, 2013

Box Score
UCLA Softball on Twitter | UCLA Softball on Facebook
2013 UCLA Softball Media Guide

LOS ANGELES - For the first time since March 1986, the Bruins played a third-consecutive, extra-inning game, but after winning the first two of their series with #8 California, #19 UCLA dropped a 5-1, 10-inning decision to the Golden Bears in the weekend finale on Saturday at Easton Stadium.

Sophomore Ally Carda (19-7) struck out eight in seven innings of relief, allowing four runs, five hits and four walks. She struck out the side in the fourth and two more in the ninth, posting a 1-2-3 frame in the fifth. Freshman Paige McDuffee started and fanned one in three frames, allowing a run, three hits and one walk.

At the plate, the Bruins (28-14, 5-10 Pac-12) were held to five hits, as Carda, senior B.B. Bates, sophomore Gracie Goulder and freshmen Britney Rodriguez and Mysha Sataraka all had singles. For UCLA, it was its first time playing extra innings in back-to-back-to-back games since March 8, 9 and 15 when the Bruins had three-straight, 10-inning contests.

Each team scored a run in its half of the first. For California (32-8, 7-5 Pac-12), Cheyenne Cordes led off the game with a double to right, Britt Vonk moved her over to third on a sacrifice and Cordes scored on a wild pitch.

The Bruins got the run back in their first at-bat. Bates led off with a single up the middle, and one out later, Carda chopped one over the head of the Cal third baseman to put a pair on base. Junior Jessica Hall then grounded a ball to short, as the Bears were able to get the force on Carda. However, Vonk's relay throw to first was in the dirt and got away, allowing Bates to come around and score to tie the game.

From there, it was eight straight innings of zeroes, as the two teams continued on into the 10th frame to play 28 innings this weekend, or the equivalent of four regulation contests.

Between the second and ninth frames, Cal would strand seven, leaving a runner at second in the third and a runner at third in the seventh.

The Bruins had two good chances in the third and seventh innings, but would end up leaving eight on base for the game. In the third, Goulder led off with a single and freshman Allexis Bennett reached on a fielder's choice to put a pair on base. Goulder moved to third on a deep fly out by Bates, while Bennett stole second, but Cal's Jolene Henderson retired the next two hitters to end the inning.

In the seventh, Rodriguez led off with a pinch-hit single and was pinch-run for by sophomore Sam Duran, who moved to second on a Goulder sacrifice and to third on a ground out by Bennett. After a walk to Bates, sophomore Stephany LaRosa hit a sharp grounder to second, but Victoria Jones dove and shoveled it to Cordes at the second base bag to record the force and keep the game going.

After two scoreless extra frames, the Bears broke it open in the 10th. Khala Taylor and Cordes led off the inning with back-to-back singles and Vonk reached on a fielder's choice sacrifice when Sataraka was late trying to get Taylor at third. Lindsey Ziegenhirt followed with a sacrifice fly to center to score Taylor to make it 2-1. One out later, Henderson hit a homer just fair down the left-field line to extend Cal's advantage to 5-1.

The Bruins travel to Tucson next week for a Thursday-Saturday series against Arizona, with all three games airing on live television. Thursday's 7 p.m. game will air on ESPN2, Friday's 5 p.m. start will air on ESPNU and Saturday's 6 p.m. contest will air on Pac-12 Networks. As a reminder, the state of Arizona is currently on the same time as California. Gametracker will also be available at UCLABruins.com, as well as live updates at twitter.com/uclasoftball.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Feb 26
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
W, 14 - 6 (5)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 4
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
L, 7 - 11
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 15 - 7 (5)
Saturday, May 07
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Sunday, May 08
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Rained Out
Friday, May 20
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, May 21
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Saturday, May 28 - 6:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS