Mora Announces the Signing of O-Lineman Alexandru Ceachir

Dec. 23, 2011

Head football coach Jim Mora has announced the signing of Russian offensive lineman Alexandru Ceachir, a junior college lineman from Santa Monica CC. This is the first signee of the Mora era.

The 6-5/300 lb. lineman hails from Moldova, a country located between Romania and the Ukraine. He graduated from high school in the Spring of 2009 and then headed to Santa Monica CC in 2010. While at SMCC in 2011, he played tackle and earned first-team American Pacific Conference honors. Ceachir also helped lead SMCC to their first conference championship in 20 years.

Ceachir is a highly touted recruit that had offers from many schools including several in the Pac-12 and SEC.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Virginia
Pasadena, CA
W, 34 - 16
Saturday, Sep 12
Las Vegas, NV
W, 37 - 3
Saturday, Sep 19
vs. Brigham Young
Pasadena, CA
W, 24 - 23
Saturday, Sep 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 56 - 30
Saturday, Oct 03
vs. Arizona State
Pasadena, CA
L, 23 - 38
Thursday, Oct 15
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 35 - 56
Thursday, Oct 22
vs. California
Pasadena, CA
W, 40 - 24
Saturday, Oct 31
vs. Colorado
Pasadena, CA
W, 35 - 31
Saturday, Nov 07
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 41 - 0
Saturday, Nov 14
vs. Washington State
Pasadena, CA
L, 27 - 31
Saturday, Nov 21
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 17 - 9
Saturday, Nov 28 - 12:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA