Ojai Results Day 2

April 29, 2011

Ojai, Calif. - UCLA men's tennis player Adrien Puget advanced to the semifinals in both singles and doubles at the 2011 Pac-10 Championships, as play continued for both the Bruin men and the women in Ojai on Friday.

Puget, who defeated USC freshman Emilio Gomez, 6-3, 6-3 in Friday's singles quarterfinals, will face top-seeded Steve Johnson of USC in at 11:00 a.m. on Saturday. Johnson was a 6-3, 6-3 winner over Bruin senior Amit Inbar in another quarterfinal encounter. Puget and teammate Alex Brigham will also be in action in the doubles semifinals, as the Bruin duo advanced with an 8-6 win over Arizona's Geoff Embry and Andre Vidaller. Next up is a meeting with Johnson and Raymond Sarmiento of USC on Saturday at 3:30 p.m.

Warren Hardie was also a winner on the day, defeating Stanford's Daniel Ho, 7-6, 6-2 in the Pac-10 Invitational singles draw. He will meet Washington's Max Manthou on Saturday at 11:00 a.m.

On the women's side, UCLA's McCall Jones was ousted from both the singles and doubles draws on Friday, as she suffered a 6-3, 6-2 loss to fourth-seeded Nicole Gibbs of Stanford. Gibbs then knocked her out of the doubles draw as well, as she and partner Kristie Ahn downed Noelle Hickey and Jones, 9-8(1) in the quarterfinals.

The Bruins have one last chance for a title in Ojai, as Courtney Dolehide and Nina Pantic are still alive in the Pac-10 Invitational doubles draw. After receiving a bye in the first round, the Bruin duo advanced due to a walkover on Friday. They are scheduled to face Cal's Stephany Chang and Catie Visico on Saturday at 2:00 p.m.

Complete draws and results from the tournament can be accessed HERE.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Thursday, Feb 18
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 6
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 5
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Friday, Mar 11
at California
Berkeley, CA
Rained out.
Saturday, Mar 12
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 1 - 5
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Friday, Apr 01
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Apr 03
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Columbus, OH
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS