Kaitlin Sather Named Pacific-10 Conference Player of the Week

Nov. 2, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Senior Kaitlin Sather was named Pacific-10 Conference Player of the Week on Monday after producing a pair of double-doubles to help the Bruins to road victories against #14 California and #4 Stanford last weekend.

Sather tied for the team lead with 11 kills against the Golden Bears on Friday, adding 12 digs for her 11th double-double of the season. The senior had four kills in both the first and fourth sets, notching the final two kills of the match.

On Saturday, Sather helped the Bruins snap an 18-match losing streak to Stanford to give head coach Andy Banachowski his 1,100th-career victory. She again tied for the team lead with 14 kills, falling just one dig shy of her personal best with 20 for her team-leading 12th double-double. Sather had four kills in the second and led the Bruins with three in both the fourth and deciding fifth sets.

Sather averaged 2.78 kills and 3.56 digs per set during the weekend and is second on the team with 2.72 kps and 3.05 dps. During Pac-10 play, she is tops on the squad with 3.17 kps and second with 3.52 dps.

The Pac-10 POW award is the first of Sather's career, the 60th in UCLA history and the second this season for the Bruins. Lauren Cook was honored with Pac-10 and AVCA National Player of the Week awards on Sept. 14.

The Bruins, who jumped up four spots to seventh in this week's AVCA rankings, face #17 USC on Friday at Galen Center at 7 p.m. Gametracker and free audio will be available at UCLABruins.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS