Bywaters, Dahlkemper Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 13, 2012

LOS ANGELES - UCLA's Zakiya Bywaters and Abby Dahlkemper were among 38 women identified as possible player of the year candidates on Monday, as the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch List for 2012 was revealed to the country.

Bywaters, a senior forward from Las Vegas, Nev., was a first-team All-Pac-12 selection last season. She was one of five players to start all 21 matches, finishing the season with 12 points on three goals and six assists. Her best match of the season came against cross-town rival USC, where she assisted on three goals in UCLA's 5-2 victory over the Trojans.

Dahlkemper, a sophomore defender from Menlo Park, Calif., earned third-team NSCAA All-America honors as a freshman last year. Like Bywaters, she was also named to the All-Pac-12 First Team and was one of five players to start all 21 matches. She was the leader of a UCLA defense that surrendered just 12 goals all season (2nd in the Pac-12). She also helped the Bruins rank second in the conference in goals against average (0.55) and shutouts (13).

The list of 38 will be narrowed down by NSCAA members from Division I programs to 15 semifinalists by November 29. Member coaches and fans will then vote for their top three choices and the finalists will be announced December 6. The winners will be announced at the awards' banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 11.

The MAC Herman Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Click HERE for the complete 2012 Watch List.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events