Ben Howland Named District 15 Coach of the Year

March 8, 2007

UCLA head coach Ben Howland has been named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) District 15 Coach of the Year, it was announced today.

In the last two seasons, Howland has led the Bruins to a record of 58-11 and two straight Pacific-10 Conference championships. Last season, the Bruins also won the Pac-10 Tournament and reached the NCAA championship game, their first appearance in the Final Four since 1995.

Here are the other district winners:


District 1: Mike Lonergan, University of Vermont

District 2: Matt Brady, Marist College

District 3: James "Bruiser" Flint, Drexel University

District 4: John Thompson III, Georgetown University

District 5: Dave Leitao, University of Virginia

District 6: Billy Donovan, University of Florida

District 7: Kevin Stallings, Vanderbilt University

District 8: Orlando Early, University of Louisiana - Monroe

District 9: Billy Gillispie, Texas A&M University

District 10: Brad Brownell, Wright State University

District 11: Chris Lowery, Southern Illinois University

District 12: Bill Self, University of Kansas

District 13: Mark Fox, University of Nevada - Reno

District 14: Tony Bennett, Washington State University

District 15: Ben Howland, UCLA

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 70 - 79
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
L, 68 - 76
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 82 - 86
Wednesday, Mar 09
vs. USC
Las Vegas, NV
L, 71 - 95