Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Four UCLA Soccer Alumni Win 2012 MLS Cup with LA Galaxy
By: UCLA Athletics

Dec. 3, 2012

Los Angeles, Calif. - UCLA alums Kyle Nakazawa, Brian Perk, Brian Rowe and Michael Stephens won the 2012 MLS Cup with the Los Angeles Galaxy on Saturday after the Galaxy defeated the Houston Dynamo, 3-1, at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif.

Stephens, the 2008 Pac-10 Player of the Year, came on as a substitute in Saturday's match and played 14 minutes in the Galaxy's victory. He played in 23 matches during the regular season in 2012, making six starts and recording two assists. This also marks the second straight year that Perk and Stephens have won the MLS Cup, as each player helped the Galaxy win the 2011 MLS Cup last year. This is the first time that Rowe and Nakazawa have been members of an MLS Cup winning side.

A total of 26 Bruins have won at least one MLS Cup as either a player or head coach. Stephens and Perk are two of 10 Bruins who have won twice. In addition, UCLA alumni have now won MLS titles in each of the last nine years.

MLS Cup Champions from UCLA
1998 - Josh Keller, Ante Razov (Chicago Fire)
2000 - Chris Henderson, Tahj Jakins (Kansas City Wizards)
2001 - Jimmy Conrad, Zak Ibsen (San Jose Earthquakes)
2002 - Adam Frye, Kevin Hartman, Cobi Jones, Matt Reis, Pete Vagenas, Sasha Victorine, Head Coach Sigi Schmid (LA Galaxy)
2004 - Nick Rimando (DC United)
2005 - Mike Enfield, Kevin Hartman, Cobi Jones, Pete Vagenas (LA Galaxy)
2006 - Patrick Ianni, Zach Wells (Houston Dynamo)
2007 - Patrick Ianni, Zach Wells (Houston Dynamo)
2008 - Frankie Hejduk, Head Coach Sigi Schmid (Columbus Crew)
2009 - Tony Beltran, Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
2010 - Marvell Wynne (Colorado Rapids)
2011 - Sean Alvarado, Chad Barrett, Frankie Hejduk, Brian Perk, Michael Stephens (LA Galaxy)
2012 - Kyle Nakazawa, Brian Perk, Brian Rowe, Michael Stephens (LA Galaxy)

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Oct 16
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Monday, Oct 19
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Oct 23
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
T, 2 - 2
Sunday, Oct 25
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Nov 01
at Akron
Akron, OH
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Nov 08
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Nov 14
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 0
Sunday, Nov 22
at Seattle
Seattle, WA
L, 0 - 1