Amanda Gil Named UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week

Nov. 10, 2009

Sophomore middle blocker Amanda Gil (San Jose, CA/Archbishop Mitty HS) of the UCLA women's volleyball team was selected as the UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week for Nov. 2-8.

Gil had a team and season-high 16 kills, including five in the deciding fifth set, as the seventh-ranked Bruins won their sixth straight match and moved into sole possession of second place in the Pac-10 with a victory at rival USC on Friday. Gil hit at a .560 percentage with only two errors in 25 swings, adding seven blocks. The sophomore led the Bruins in kills in the second set with four and the third with five, but she took over the match in the fifth set. She had a hand in three of the first four UCLA points of the final set on a pair of kills and a combo block. Gil then helped clinch the match, scoring each of the final three Bruin points on kills.

Gil, who came into the weekend leading the nation in blocks per set, is averaging 1.60 bps and 1.73 bps during Pac-10 play. Overall, she is hitting a team-best .372 with 2.36 kills per set, which is third on the team.

This is Gil's first UCLA/Muscle Milk Student-Athlete of the Week honor of the season and of her career.

Also nominated: Terrence Austin, Football; Lauren Cheney, W. Soccer; Scott Davidson, M. Water Polo; David Estrada, M. Soccer; Stephanie Kono, W. Golf


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Aug 30 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Sep 05 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 10:00 AM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Friday, Sep 18 - 7:30 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Wednesday, Sep 23 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - TBA PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - TBA PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS