Olympic Roundup - Thursday, Aug. 14, 2008

Aug. 14, 2008

Swimming
Bruin alum and volunteer swim coach Kim Vandenberg became the first medal-winner for UCLA at the Beijing Olympic Games, as she and the U.S. 4x200m relay team took third (7:46.33) in the final. Vandenberg swam in the preliminary round, helping the U.S. squad to the No. 2 time heading into the final. She did not swim in the medal round but receives a bronze as a member of the relay squad. It is her first Olympic medal and first Olympic competition.

Softball
Rain delayed the United States' game against Canada on Thursday. Prior to the rain delay, Canada was winning 1-0 in the fourth inning. Play will resume on Friday after the United States-Japan game, which begins at noon Beijing time (9 pm PT Thursday).

Men's Volleyball
The U.S. team won its third match at the Olympics, defeating Bulgaria, 3-1 (27-29, 25-21, 25-14, 26-24). John Speraw is the assistant coach of the U.S. team.

Men's Water Polo
The U.S. men's water polo team absorbed its first defeat at the 2008 Olympics, losing to Serbia, 4-2, on Thursday. Peter Varellas led the Americans, scoring both goals, and goalkeeper Merrill Moses totaled 11 stops in the cage. Former UCLA standout Adam Wright did not score on two shot attempts, and former Bruin goalkeeper Brandon Brooks did not play.

The U.S. men's water polo team continues preliminary-round play against Croatia on Friday, Aug. 15 at 9:10 p.m. (PT). The Americans have compiled a 2-1 record in preliminary matches, and Croatia has logged a 3-0 mark in the first week of action. The USA-Croatia match can be viewed live online (www.nbcolympics.com) and watched on NBC-4 on Saturday, Aug. 16, between 1 p.m. and 4 p.m.

Men's Tennis
Marcin Matkowski and Mariusz Fyrstenberg lost in the quarterfinals to Simon Aspelin and Thomas Johansson, 7-6(5), 6-4.

Rowing
Rain postponed rowing action until Friday. Mark Hunter is competing in the semifinals of the lightweight double sculls, while Mike Altman and the U.S. crew competes in the semifinals of the lightweight fours.

Beijing Blogs
Read the latest from water polo player Natalie Golda HERE

News Links

  • Women's track and field head coach Jeanette Bolden discusses life as an asthmatic

    Coming Up

  • The U.S. women's water polo team faces Russia on Thursday, Aug. 14, at 11:20 p.m. (PT). The USA-Russia match can be viewed live online (www.nbcolympics.com) and watched on NBC-4 on Friday, Aug. 15, between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. A win against Russia will advance the U.S. team to the quarterfinals. A victory by Team USA combined with a win by China over Italy will send the U.S. team straight to the semifinals as the first-place competitor in Group A.
  • The undefeated U.S. softball team faces Japan in a preliminary round game at 9 pm PT Thursday.
  • The U.S. and Canada will meet in the quarterfinals of the women's soccer tournament at 3 am PT on Friday. The U.S. team includes forward Lauren Cheney and assistant coach Jillian Ellis. Canada is led by Kara Lang.
  • Track and field action begins on Friday for Bruin alumni Suzy Powell Roos in the Discus and Jonathan Williams in the 400m Hurdles. Discus qualifying begins at 4:55 am PT, while the 400m hurdles begins at 6:55 am PT.
  • Elaine Youngs and Nicole Branagh face Cubans Dalixia Grasset and Tamara Peraza in the elimination round of the beach volleyball tournament. Their match will take place Friday at 7 pm PT.
  • Postponed rowing matches resume Friday, with Mark Hunter competing in the semifinals of the lightweight double sculls and Mike Altman and the U.S. crew competing in the semifinals of the lightweight fours.

    Medal Count
    Bronze - 1 (Kim Vandenberg, Swimming 4x200m Relay)


  • EVENT INFORMATION
    UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
    Wednesday, Mar 02
    vs. Michigan
    Los Angeles, CA
    L, 6 - 8
    Friday, Mar 04
    vs. Florida State
    Los Angeles, CA
    L, 0 - 3
    Friday, Mar 04
    vs. UC Santa Barbara
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 3 - 2
    Saturday, Mar 05
    vs. Charleston Southern
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 9 - 0 (5)
    Saturday, Mar 05
    vs. Syracuse
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 3 - 2
    Sunday, Mar 06
    vs. UC Davis
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 9 - 1 (5)
    Saturday, Mar 12
    vs. Utah Valley
    Lakewood, CA
    W, 19 - 0 (5)
    Saturday, Mar 12
    vs. Iowa State
    Lakewood, CA
    W, 7 - 1
    Sunday, Mar 13
    vs. Princeton
    Lakewood, CA
    W, 13 - 1 (5)
    Sunday, Mar 13
    vs. Long Beach State
    Lakewood, CA
    W, 3 - 2
    Saturday, Mar 19
    at California
    Berkeley, CA
    W, 3 - 2 (9)
    Monday, Mar 21
    at California
    Berkeley, CA
    T, 3 - 3
    Monday, Mar 21
    at California
    Berkeley, CA
    Canceled
    Thursday, Mar 24
    vs. Washington
    Los Angeles, CA
    L, 0 - 9 (6)
    Friday, Mar 25
    vs. Washington
    Los Angeles, CA
    L, 5 - 6
    Saturday, Mar 26
    vs. Washington
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 10 - 8
    Tuesday, Mar 29
    at Cal State Fullerton
    Fullerton, CA
    W, 5 - 4
    Friday, Apr 01
    at Oregon
    Eugene, OR
    W, 16 - 6 (5)
    Saturday, Apr 02
    at Oregon
    Eugene, OR
    L, 5 - 6
    Sunday, Apr 03
    at Oregon
    Eugene, OR
    W, 4 - 1
    Saturday, Apr 09
    vs. Stanford
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 13 - 9
    Sunday, Apr 10
    vs. Stanford
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 8 - 0 (6)
    Monday, Apr 11
    vs. Stanford
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 2 - 1
    Wednesday, Apr 13
    vs. CSUN
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 6 - 0
    Friday, Apr 15
    vs. Oregon State
    Los Angeles, CA
    L, 2 - 8
    Saturday, Apr 16
    vs. Oregon State
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 7 - 5
    Sunday, Apr 17
    vs. Oregon State
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 8 - 0 (5)
    Saturday, Apr 23
    at Arizona
    Tucson, AZ
    W, 8 - 6
    Sunday, Apr 24
    at Arizona
    Tucson, AZ
    L, 4 - 8
    Monday, Apr 25
    at Arizona
    Tucson, AZ
    W, 8 - 7
    Friday, Apr 29
    vs. Arizona State
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 8 - 6
    Saturday, Apr 30
    vs. Arizona State
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 6 - 5
    Sunday, May 01
    vs. Arizona State
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 9 - 4
    Friday, May 06
    at Utah
    Salt Lake City, UT
    W, 15 - 7 (5)
    Saturday, May 07
    at Utah
    Salt Lake City, UT
    W, 8 - 0 (6)
    Sunday, May 08
    at Utah
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Rained Out
    Friday, May 20
    vs. CSU Bakersfield
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 7 - 0
    Saturday, May 21
    vs. Cal State Fullerton
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 3 - 2
    Sunday, May 22
    vs. Cal State Fullerton
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 5 - 4
    Saturday, May 28
    at Oregon
    Eugene, OR
    L, 1 - 8
    Sunday, May 29
    at Oregon
    Eugene, OR
    W, 2 - 1 (9)
    Sunday, May 29
    at Oregon
    Eugene, OR
    W, 2 - 1
    Thursday, Jun 02 - 11:30 AM PST
    vs. Auburn
    Oklahoma City, OK
    BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS