Kelyn Rowe's Golden Goal Gives UCLA 1-0 Win Over San Diego

Sept. 18, 2011

Box Score

San Diego, Calif. - After seeing no score for the first 90 minutes of play, sophomore Kelyn Rowe scored the game-winning goal just one minute into overtime to give the Bruins a 1-0 victory over the San Diego Toreros.

The goal was Rowe's second of the season and the second golden goal of his UCLA career.

In the early going, the Bruins got a little bit of help from the woodwork as San Diego midfielder Dan Delgado hit one off the post in the 13th minute to keep the match scoreless. The two teams remained mostly quiet for the rest of the half until the final seconds, when forward Chandler Hoffman took a long ball in the box, tapped it down with his right foot and put a low, hard shot towards the near post. Hoffman looked to have his eighth goal of the year and the UCLA record of consecutive games with a goal, but was denied by the post as the ball shot across the goal line and out of play, sending the two teams into the half tied at 0-0.

For the second half, defense took over as both teams denied the other of any serious scoring chances and neither keeper was seriously tested. Eventually the two teams headed to overtime still tied 0-0.

At the 91st minute, the scoreless tie was finally broken as Kelyn Rowe put in a beautiful golden goal to give UCLA the 1-0 win. Rowe took a header back from Zack Foxhoven and blasted a line drive from about 30 yards out to the far post, where the ball hit off the left post, then the right post and finally went into the back of the net for the goal.

Overall, the Bruins were outshot by the Toreros 14-8. Brian Rowe earned his first shutout of the year after making four saves on the evening.

UCLA will host two more home matches next weekend, taking on Seattle University on Friday, Sept. 23 at 5 pm and SMU on Sunday, Sept. 25 at 1 pm. Both matches will be played at Drake Stadium.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 29 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO
Sunday, Dec 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO