No. 13 UCLA Falls to Washington

Jan. 24, 2009

Box Score

SEATTLE (AP) - Freshman Isaiah Thomas scored 24 points and Justin Dentmon returned from foul trouble to spark the decisive late run that sent resurgent Washington to an 86-75 victory over 13th-ranked UCLA and gave the Pac-10 a new leader on Saturday.

Jon Brockman rebounded from an off night Thursday to score 18 points and add eight rebounds for Washington (15-4), which won for the 13th time in 14 games. The Huskies scored more points than anyone had this season against the Bruins.

The Huskies won for the fifth consecutive time over UCLA in Seattle and are 6-1 in the conference for the third time in 25 years.

Josh Shipp scored a career-high 25 points but went scoreless for more than nine minutes of the second half for the Bruins (15-4, 5-2 Pac-10), who lost for the second time in three games.

Dentmon finished with 16 points - 10 after he returned with 4:59 left from being on the bench for eight minutes with our fouls.

When Dentmon, who had scored at least 20 points in three of his last four games, went to the bench after getting his fourth foul with 12:39 remaining, Thomas was Washington's only guard for a stretch.

UCLA's Nikola Dragovic, who had missed four of his first five shots, scored five consecutive points to tie the game at 58 midway through the second half. Then Thomas took over. Quincy Pondexter scored for Washington before Thomas made his third consecutive 3-pointer, this one from four steps behind the arc.

Darren Collison, who finished with 12 points on just 5-for-14 shooting, made two free throws to draw the Bruins within 67-66 with 6:13 remaining. But the Huskies scored the next 12 points, eight by Dentmon.

He turned his consecutive steals into points, then smoothly drove into the lane and scooped in two more with the shot clock running out to make it 76-66 with 2:50 remaining and effectively give the Pac-10 a new leader.

Two days after USC held Brockman without a field goal for the first time since his freshman season, the senior scored seven points in the first 4:17 of the second half. The final ones came on a three-point play when he bulled through J'mison Morgan after getting prime position inside. That gave Washington a 49-46 lead.

Dragovic scored eight points and was 3-for-8 from the field after scoring 20 in a two-point win at Washington State on Thursday. That escape had come after a loss at home to No. 17 Arizona State last weekend.

The Bruins, who have won three consecutive conference titles and been to three straight Final Fours, never led over the final 16 minutes on Saturday.

Shipp had 12 points early, thanks to 3-for-4 shooting on 3-pointers. That gave UCLA a 39-38 lead at halftime.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA