Volleyball Wins Hawaiian Airlines Classic With Sweep of UH

Sept. 3, 2006

Final Stats

HONOLULU - The 10th-ranked UCLA women's volleyball team improved to 6-0 on the season with a 30-19, 30-26, 30-24 win over host Hawai'i at the Hawaiian Airlines Classic in Honolulu on Sunday night. Nana Meriwether was named the Tournament MVP while Katie Carter and Nellie Spicer were also named to the All-Tournament Team.

Katie Carter paced the Bruins with 21 kills and two block assists in the match, hitting .425 for the contest. Nana Meriwether contributed 12 kills with a .391 attack percentage and four block assists on the night.

In game one, Hawai'i scored the first two points of the match, but the Bruins tied it at 3-3 and a Nana Meriwether kill gave the Bruins the lead for good at 4-3. Carter hit .692 in the opening game, downing nine kills on 13 error-free attacks. As a team, the Bruins hit .576 in the game with 20 kills and just one error on 33 total attacks.

Game two was similar with UH taking an early 3-0 lead, but UCLA took control at 5-4 and held the lead until a Bruin attack error tied the game at 21-21. The Rainbow Wahine would take a one-point lead at 24-23, but a Meriwether kill tied the game and UCLA went on to score three straight points and hold the lead for good, ending with a 30-26 win and going to the locker rooms for the break up two games to none. Carter again starred for the Bruins in the game, putting down nine kills with a .412 attack percentage. The Bruins had four of their six blocks in the match in game two, with two assists each fro Meriwether and Rachell Johnson.

After the break, the Bruins took an early lead, but UH would fight back to lead briefly at 12-11. UH stayed within one point to the 19-19 mark before UCLA converted on the next two points to take the lead for good en route to a 30-24 final game victory.

The Bruins will return to action at the Pioneer Classic on Friday, Sept. 8, with a 5 pm Mountain Time match against Texas State. UCLA will also face Georgia and host Denver in the weekend tournament before traveling to Maryland for a single game against Towson and a tournament at Maryland.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-21, 25-16)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
(15-25, 23-25, 27-29)
Friday, Sep 04
vs. American University
Honolulu, HI
(25-19, 25-19, 25-18)
Saturday, Sep 05
vs. Iowa
Honolulu, HI
(25-20, 25-16, 25-13)
Sunday, Sep 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-16, 25-27, 25-17, 28-26)
Friday, Sep 11
vs. San Diego
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-13, 24-26, 25-21, 25-23)
Saturday, Sep 12
vs. SMU
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-20, 25-22, 25-16)
Sunday, Sep 13
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-19, 27-25, 25-23)
Friday, Sep 18
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-23, 25-17, 25-21)
Friday, Sep 18
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-20, 19-25, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Sep 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(22-25, 12-25, 19-25)
Sunday, Sep 27
at California
Berkeley, CA
(25-20, 27-25, 25-16)
Friday, Oct 02
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
(29-31, 16-25, 15-25)
Sunday, Oct 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 25-18, 30-28)
Friday, Oct 09 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Oct 11 - 11:00 AM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Friday, Oct 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Oct 25 - 12:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 30 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Wednesday, Nov 04 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Nov 12 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Nov 22 - 11:00 AM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Wednesday, Nov 25 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 27 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Saturday, Dec 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Saturday, Dec 12 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
Thursday, Dec 17 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE
Saturday, Dec 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Omaha, NE