UCLA Athletes Volunteer at 'Read Across America' Celebration

Mar. 3, 2000

Compton, Calif. - A group of UCLA student athletes and athletic department staff were on hand at Augusta A. Mayo Elementary School Thursday, as part of the National Education Association's (NEA) third annual Read Across America celebration.

Members of the UCLA football and men's and women's soccer teams were on hand to speak with the students and took timeout by going to individual classrooms and reading. Afterwards, they took the kids out on the playground to play football and soccer.

"We were really pleased to have the UCLA athletes come and participate in the Read Across America celebration," said principal Faye Sarfan-Styvaert. "They read to the kids and played with the kids and their participation just added a lot to this special day. We're really looking forward to them coming back and participating next year."

The program, celebrated annually on Mar. 2, the birthday of the late Dr. Seuss (Theodor Geisel), engages some 20 million adults and children across the country in reading.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2