Two UCLA Incomers Tabbed PARADE All-America Selections

May 20, 2013

LOS ANGELES - Incoming UCLA freshmen Bryce Alford and Zach LaVine have earned PARADE All-America Boys Basketball honors, as announced by the national magazine last weekend.

LaVine, a 6-foot-3 guard from Bothell, Wash., averaged 28.5 points, 3.4 rebounds and 2.5 assists per game as a senior at Bothell High School. He was named the state of Washington's "Mr. Basketball" by the Washington Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Association in March 2013.

LaVine helped guide Bothell to a 21-5 overall record and 13-1 league mark in 2012-13. He was invited to participate in the inaugural West Coast All-Star Classic at the ShoWare Center in Kent, Wash., earlier this month.

Alford, a 6-foot-3 guard from Albuquerque, N.M., has accepted an offer of enrollment at UCLA and will join the Bruins' freshman class in 2013-14. The son of head coach Steve Alford, Bryce concluded his senior season at La Cueva High School having established the New Mexico state single-season scoring record with 1,050 points.

Bryce Alford earned 2013 Gatorade Player of the Year honors in New Mexico, secured Albuquerque Metro Player of the Year accolades as a junior and senior, and was named the New Mexico Hall of Fame's Male Athlete of the Year as a senior. As a senior at La Cueva, he registered 37.7 points, 8.5 rebounds, 6.4 assists and 2.6 steals per game in leading his team to a 22-6 overall record and appearance in the Class 5A quarterfinals.

This marks the second consecutive season in which at least two incoming UCLA men's basketball players had secured PARADE All-America acclaim. In May 2012, Kyle Anderson, Shabazz Muhammad and Tony Parker were named to the 2012 PARADE All-America Team.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA