TOP STORIES
Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Clay Thompson
Bruins Reach Finals at USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiates
By: UCLA Athletics
Flushing, N.Y. - The UCLA men's and women's tennis programs are on the verge of two individual national titles, as both Robin Anderson and Clay Thompson each posted semifinal singles victories on Saturday at the USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships at the USTA's Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

Anderson, the defending ITA Indoor Champion and the No. 2 seed in this year's tournament, downed seventh-seeded Hayley Carter of North Carolina, 7-5, 6-2 in Saturday's semifinals. If Anderson is going to win her second-straight title in New York she is going to have to get by another North Carolina player, top-seeded Jamie Loeb, who beat USC's Sabrina Santamaria, 6-2, 6-0 in her semifinal match. Sunday's ITA Indoor final will be a rematch of the ITA All-American Championships in September, where Loeb beat Anderson, 6-4, 6-0. Sunday's final will be at 11:30 a.m. (EST).

Thompson, the sixth-seeded seeded player on the men's side, advanced to Sunday's final after beating unseeded Axel Alvarez of Oklahoma, 6-3, 7-5. Awaiting him in the final is eighth-seeded Jared Hiltzik of Illinois, who beat unseeded Ray Sarmiento of USC, 6-2, 7-6(5) on Saturday. Sunday's final will take place at the same time as the women's final at 11:30 a.m. (EST). Thompson is aiming for his second singles title in a row after

Also advancing to a final on Sunday is Bruin junior Marcos Giron, who lost in the first round on Thursday but has since went on to win three back draw matches to reach the consolation singles final. Giron will take on Baylor's Patrick Pradella, who was the No. 1 seed in the main draw.

Complete results from the USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships can be found on the tournament's EVENT PAGE.

ITA Indoor Results/Schedule

Women's Singles (Main Draw)
SF - (2) Robin Anderson (UCLA) def. (7) Hayley Carter (UNC) - 7-5, 6-2
F - (1) Jamie Loeb (UNC) vs. (2) Robin Anderson (UCLA) - 11:30 a.m. (EST)

Men's Singles (Main Draw)
SF - (6) Clay Thompson (UCLA) def. Axel Alvarez (Oklahoma) - 6-3, 7-5
F - (6) Clay Thompson (UCLA) vs. (8) Jared Hiltzik (Illinois) - 11:30 a.m. (EST)

Men's Singles (Consolation)
SF - Marcos Giron (UCLA) def. Hunter Reese (Tennesseee) - 7-6(2), 6-2
F - (1) Patrick Pradella (Baylor) vs. Marcos Giron (UCLA) - 11:30 a.m. (EST)

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS