Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Atonye Nyingifa has been named the Pac-12 Player of the Week for the second time in her career.
Atonye Nyingifa Named Pac-12 Player of the Week
By: UCLA Athletics

Follow on Facebook

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-12 Conference office announced today the Pac-12 Women’s Basketball Players of the Week for the week of Nov. 18-24. UCLA’s Atonye Nyingifa was named the Pac-12 Player of the Week and Washington’s Kelsey Plum was tabbed the Pac-12 Freshman of the Week.

UCLA forward Atonye Nyingifa (Torrance, Calif.) established or tied six career-highs in leading the Bruins to an 82-76 upset win over No. 10/13 Oklahoma at Pauley Pavilion on Sunday. Nyingifa tied her career-best with a game-high 28 points with career-bests in free throws made (12) and free throws attempted (15). She completed her second straight double-double against a ranked team with a career-high 16 rebounds, including six on the offensive glass. The sixth-year senior also handed out a career-high six assists, added three steals and one block against the Sooners. UCLA, which has faced three top 12 teams in its first four games of the 2013-14 season, improves to 2-2 overall and earns the Pac-12’s first win over a ranked team this season.

Freshman guard Kelsey Plum (Poway, Calif.) scored 18 of her 22 points in the second half to lead Washington to its first win of the season, defeating Seattle University, 82-60. She added three rebounds and three assists, also shooting .471 from the floor and going a perfect 4-for-4 from the free throw line. Plum has scored 20+ points in each of the first three games of her career and is averaging a team-high 22.3 points per game.

It is Nyingifa’s second-career player of the week honor and UCLA’s 49th all-time. It is Washington’s fourth freshman of the week honor all-time.

A player of the week has been selected every week since 1986-87, the first year the Conference sponsored women’s sports. A freshman of the week was first selected in 2012-13.

The Bruins a headed to the Gulf Coast Showcase in Naples, Fla., for three games, Nov. 29-30, beginning with James Madison on the first day of the event. The Huskies are off for the week, with their next contest scheduled for Wednesday, Dec. 4 at Houston.

Also Nominated:

PLAYER: Promise Amukamara, ASU; Reshanda Gray, CAL; Brittany Wilson, COLO; Jamie Weisner, OSU; Mikaela Ruef, STAN; Jazmine Davis, WASH; Tia Presley, WSU.

FRESHMAN: LaBrittney Jones, ARIZ; Kelsey Moos, ASU; Courtney Range, CAL; Lauren Huggins, COLO; Sydney Wiese, OSU.



UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 01
vs. Vanguard
Los Angeles, CA
W, 113 - 42
Friday, Nov 13
vs. St. John's
Los Angeles, CA
W, 73 - 58
Friday, Nov 20
vs. James Madison
Los Angeles, CA
W, 90 - 61
Sunday, Nov 22
vs. South Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 65 - 68
Friday, Nov 27 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Louisiana Tech
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Saturday, Nov 28 - TBA PST
vs. Denver or Notre Dame
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Saturday, Dec 05 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 13 - 11:00 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Wednesday, Dec 16 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Dec 18 - 7:05 PM PST
at Sacramento State
Sacramento, CA
Monday, Dec 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Dec 28 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Riverside
Riverside, CA
Wednesday, Dec 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 02 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 10 - 6:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 15 - 6:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 17 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Jan 22 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 24 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Jan 31 - 1:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Feb 05 - 5:00 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Sunday, Feb 07 - 12:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Feb 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Feb 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR