Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
UCLA Athletics
Leo Stolz (Photo by Don Liebig)
Leo Stolz Named MAC Hermann Trophy Finalist
By: UCLA Athletics

Junior midfielder Leo Stolz has been selected as one of three finalists for the prestigious MAC Hermann Trophy, as announced by the NSCAA today. Stolz joins Maryland’s Patrick Mullins and Notre Dame’s Harrison Shipp as the finalists for the award.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate soccer award presented annually during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. This year’s banquet will take place on Friday, Jan. 10, 2014.

Stolz is UCLA's first MAC Hermann Trophy finalist since Sasha Victorine won the MAC trophy in 1999. Stolz became the sixth UCLA player all-time to be named Pac-12 Player of the Year in 2013 after leading the conference in points (30) and goals (11). The Munich, Germany native also finished tied for the team lead in assists with eight and ranks 13th nationally in points, 20th in goals scored and 25th in assists. He finished tied for the conference lead with four game-winning goals as well and posted three multi-goal games on the year. Additionally, Stolz recorded at least one point in 10 of his final 14 matches and was named to the College Soccer News National Team of the Week four times this season. In the NCAA Second Round against Elon on Nov. 24, Stolz  recorded three assists, which were the most by a UCLA player in a postseason game since Cliff McKinley had three vs. Penn State in the 2002 NCAA Quarterfinals.

On the women’s side, UCLA defender Abby Dahlkemper was named a finalist for the women’s MAC Hermann Trophy, making UCLA the only school with a finalist on both the men’s and the women’s sides. UCLA’s men’s soccer program has had two MAC Hermann Trophy winners - Brad Friedel, who won the Hermann Trophy in 1992, and Victorine, who won the MAC Trophy in 1999. The two awards were unified into the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2002.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events